God's Word Endures Forever!
2009-11-27

Thanksgiving was great! Awesome, in fact. We had a great lunch, and a great time with our families. Best of all, Stephanie had a good day.

Today, we started buying stuff for Christmas. Not at the stores, mind you. I have no desire whatsoever to get out on "Black Friday." I prefer shopping online.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:89-90. (I wonder if they know they skipped 10 verses...)

God's word is permanent. It never goes out of fashion or out of style. It "endures forever!"

From Calvin: "As we see nothing constant or of long continuance on earth, the prophet elevates our minds to heaven, that they may fix their anchor there. Our salvation, as if it had been said, being shut up in God's word, is not subject to change, as all earthly things are, but is anchored in a safe and peaceful haven."



Paul exhorts us in 2 Timothy 2:22-23 to, first of all, flee the passions of our youth. But it's not enough to flee one thing. We must pursue something else. If we run from something, we must, necessarily, run toward something else. That something else is "righteousness, faith, love, and peace." And, Paul says, we join all who "call on the Lord from a pure heart" when we do so.


In Holiness Day by Day, the author speaks of the dual influence that we experience. On one side, we are influenced by God's Word. On the other, we are influenced by the society in which we live. There is no escaping this. All believers are somewhere on that line between the two.

Some of us are closer to the "sinful society" end of the line, and others of us are closer to the "God's Word" end. Where we are on that line depends on our attitude toward God's Word. If we have the attitude described in Psalm 1, we are probably closer to the "God's Word" end of the line. The righteous man in that Psalm is said to meditate on God's Word day and night. He delights in the Word of God. He does not see it as a book of burdensome rules. He sees it as words spoken by our Father in heaven.

Where am I on this line? Depends on what day it is, honestly. I hope I'm moving closer to the right end. But truthfully, there are days when I let the world influence me more than God's Word. Those days are better forgotten.



Father, I pray that you would help me work out that desire to delight in your word. Help me find greater joy in your Scriptures than I find in the world. Let me move closer and closer to your influence as I flee those passions that were ignited as a youth. Let me find that I am chasing after those qualities that Paul described; righteousness, faith, love, and peace.

I thank you that your word endures forever. I love that it never goes out of style, like the clothes that we wear.

Let your grace and mercy fill all of our lives. I pray that you would continue blessing us as you have, and that all would have a safe trip back from wherever they went for Thanksgiving.



I pray that everyone has a safe weekend, and if you are out shopping today, I pray for grace and patience for you!

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com