Repentance and Conversion
2009-11-24

This week is starting out better. But no school at all, this week. Which I am thankful for.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:73-97.

The Psalmist acknowledges right off that God's own hands formed him. Then he prays for the ability to live a holy life, both in body and soul.

In the next segment, he speaks of longing to see the outcome of God's salvation. He wants a sign of God's promise. He is growing weary, especially of being tormented by unbelievers.

Finally, he declares that truth that God's truth is never out of fashion. Believe it or not, the truth of God is always up to date. God's Word is dependable forever.

In Calvin's words, "As we are the creatures and the workmanship of God, and as he has not only bestowed upon us vital motion, in common with the lower animals, but has, in addition thereto, given us the light of understanding and reason,--this encourages us to pray that he would direct us to the obedience of his law. And yet the prophet does not call upon God, as if he were under any obligations to him; but, knowing, that God never forsakes the work which he has begun, he simply asks for new grace, by which God may carry on to perfection what he has commenced."



Tabletalk Magazine speaks of true repentance today, citing Joel 2:12-14, a beautiful passage of the Lord calling people to repentance. True repentance is when the "erring person ceases to run as fast as he can away from God and turns back to the Lord, running toward Him as he flees his sin." The prophet calls for people to fell true sorrow for their sin, tearing their hearts instead of their garments, which was an outward show of sorrow in biblical times.

"We are accustomed to thinking of conversion only as a one-time event that initiates our walk with Christ. Yet while there is a decisive moment of rebirth, the entire Christian life is one of conversion from beginning to end. Christians must turn from sin and to Jesus every day of their lives."

Yes. That is very true. I like that.



Father, let me not view repentance and conversion as a single event that happened long ago. Let me always be mindful that I need to practice continuing repentance and conversion, turning from sin every day of my life. I want to run towards you as fast as I can, never looking back. For you, dear Lord, are far more beautiful than any temptation of sin that could come in front of me. Let my eyes and my heart not be distracted from your beauty.

I thank you that your hands have formed me. I thank you that you planned my life, before I was ever born. I still don't know where you are taking me, but I'm willing to go there, without question. Increase my faith in your will for my life.

I pray for Stephanie as this week progresses. To top off all this other stuff, she hasn't been feeling well. Father, comfort her spirit, her body, and her mind. Let her know how much you love her, and how special she is to you. She needs healing from depression. Break that depressed spirit in her and allow joy to burst through.



Praying for a great holiday for everyone as Thanksgiving nears.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com