Not Ashamed
2009-11-05

It's been a challenging week. Tuesday afternoon, I took Stephanie to get her ingrown toenail fixed.

Wednesday morning, we had a meltdown fight because she wanted to go to school. But the doctor said to keep her home Wednesday.

Today, she did pretty well at school, although she didn't do much walking, because her toe is still sore.



My Psalm for today: 118:22-29. Reading from The Message.

The stone the masons discarded as flawed is now the capstone!
This is GOD's work. We rub our eyes--we can hardly believe it!
This is the very day GOD acted--let's celebrate and be festive!
Salvation now, GOD. Salvation now! Oh yes, GOD--a free and full life!

Blessed are you who enter in GOD's name--from GOD's house we bless you!
GOD is God, he has bathed us in light.
Festoon the shrine with garlands, hang colored banners above the altar!
You're my God, and I thank you. O my God, I lift high your praise.
Thank GOD--he's so good. His love never quits!

"If our limited understandings could comprehend the course which God follows for the protection and preservation of his Church, there would be no mention made of a miracle. From this we conclude, that his mode of working is incomprehensible, baffling the understandings of men."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Suffering by God's Power"
2 Timothy 1:8-9

Reading from the English Standard Version

Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God, who saved us and called us to a holy calling, not because of our works but because of his own purpose and grace, which he gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began,

The Holy Spirit has given us power to find honor in the "shame" of the cross. We will overcome the pressure to downplay the centrality of the cross of Christ. We should be constantly encouraging one another to not be ashamed of the gospel of Christ.



Holiness Day By Day

"Words of Authority"
Colossians 1:9

Reading from the English Standard Version

And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding,

It is basically the same thing to discern the will of the Lord and to find out what pleases him. We are commanded to know and understand God's commands. We should seek to know God's will in order to obey it. The word "command," has authority behind it. It means "to direct with authority." It is not simply guidance that we are free to accept or reject, but we tend to treat it that way, don't we? "As the sovereign God of the universe, He has the authority to require obedience, and He does insist that we obey Him."



Father, my obedience is lacking at times. I am guilty of treating your commands as though they are "suggestions." I pray for forgiveness, and ask for help in changing this attitude. I pray for the ability to immerse myself in you in the days ahead. We have a delicate and powerful task in front of us, as we begin this new church ministry. All of us need to be firmly planted in your grace. I want to lose myself in you. Let my "self" become powerless as I absorb the power of the Holy Spirit in everything I do. Let me never be ashamed of the gospel. I need to read it every day. I need to absorb the gospel like a sponge soaks up water!

Help me to understand your will and your commands.

I pray, Lord, for the people who's lives have been shattered by the shootings at Fort Hood. I pray your comfort for the families that have lost loved ones. I pray your healings on the victims who have survived. May justice be swift.



It is my goal to read a healthy chunck of gospel every day. I need to be reminding myself daily of what God has done for us through Jesus Christ.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com