Choose A Side, Place Your Confidence
2009-11-01

The wedding is done, the day is over. Months and months of planning, and, like a flash in the pan, it's done. The wedding ceremony lasted all of 19 minutes. But from start to finish, the day lasted about 5-6 hours. I forget what time it was when we finally pulled out of the parking lot, with our car and my parents' van loaded down stuff. But it was a wonderful day. Nearly perfect! We are very grateful to everyone who participated and helped.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 118:1-17. Reading from The Message.

Thank GOD because he's good, because his love never quits.
Tell the world, Israel, "His love never quits."
And you, clan of Aaron, tell the world,
"His love never quits."
And you who fear GOD, join in,
"His love never quits."
Pushed to the wall, I called to GOD; from the wide open spaces, he answered.
GOD's now at my side and I'm not afraid; who wold dare lay a hand on me?
GOD's my strong champion; I flick off my enemies like flies.
Far better to take refuge in GOD than trust in people;
Far better to take refuge in GOD than trust in celebrities.
Hemmed in by barbarians, in GOD's name I rubbed their faces in the dirt;
Like swarming bees, like wild prairie fire, they hemmed me in; in GOD's name I rubbed their faces in the dirt.
I was right on the cliff-edge, ready to fall, when GOD grabbed and held me.
GOD's my strength, he's also my song, and now he's my salvation.
Hear the shouts, hear the triumph songs in the camp of the saved?
"The hand of GOD has turned the tide!
The hand of GOD is raised in victory!
The hand of GOD has turned the tide!"

I didn't die. I lived!
And now I'm telling the world what GOD did.

Today, I'm paraphrasing the commentary, as it's too long to quote. The point of the passage is that we should not give even the smallest amount of confidence to men, if it ought to be placed in God alone. In verse nine, the Psalmist substitutes the word "princes" for "men." In The Message, the word is rendered "celebrities." I love the idea behind this. We place so much errant confidence in celebrities in our nation and our day. So the Psalmist tells us that it is foolish to even place our confidence in the most distinguished of leaders, in the place of God.

After all...when's the last time Madonna did anything for you?



Tabletalk Magazine

"Choose a Side and Go"
Weekend Reading

The gospel divides. Obviously, there are some that are for it and some that are against it.

May we all strive to be for it in the same way Paul was. He was ready to preach the gospel no matter where he was. But even for Paul, not everyone "heard" the message.

So, if even Paul had trouble convincing people, where is my hope of getting anyone to listen to me??

My hope comes from Jesus Christ. He taught the gospel, knowning full well that not everyone would hear it.

"Choose a side, trust in God's grace, call upon the Holy Spirit, pray for those who refuse to hear, celebrate with those who do hear, look to Christ for your hope, go tell people about Jesus, and leave the results to God."

That final phrase is important. We must leave the results to God. That is one of the best ways to not get discouraged.



Father, I thank you that you have enabled me to place my confidence in you rather than in men. I pray for more of that ability as I grow closer to you. I have no faith in men. Even the people closest to me, even the ones who have the strongest faith will, at times, let me down. As I will to them. We are all fallible. You, however, are perfect and infallible. The confidence that I place in you is well-founded. Only you will never fail me.

I have chosen a side, Lord. I have thrown in with Christ. For all of my life, I have run with Jesus. Sure, there are stretches where I was a bit off the path, and maybe even quit running. But I have never completely forsaken you or the gospel of Christ. I believe in my heart that your way is the only way. Give me grace and faith to show that daily in my life.



My confidence is in God and no other.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com