A Life of Continual Thanks
2009-10-25

First off, let me post this, which I borrowed from another friend's blog. It's really cute.




My Psalm for today is Psalm 1151-2. Reading from The Message.

Not for our sake, GOD, no, not for our sake, but for your name's sake, show your glory.
Do it on account of your merciful love, do it on account of your faithful ways.
Do it so none of the nations can say, "Where now, oh where is their God?"

"This is a point to which we ought carefully to attend, that, althogether unworthy as we are of God's regard, we may cherish the hope of being saved by him, from the respect tha the has for the glory of his name, and from his having adopted us on condition of never forsaking us."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Lordship of Christ"
Romans 10:9

Reading from the English Standard Version

because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Since we are justified by faith alone, it is important to know what faith is. We saw previously that our faith is in a person, and in order to have faith, we must first know about him, believe that he is who he says he is, and trust in him. This all also involves repentance, because turning from sin is our first step.

"Placing our trust in Christ alone involves believing that as our sovereign Lord, He will accomplish all of His promises." The way we show him we love him is through obedience.

"Today's passage tells us that we must submit to Jesus as the Lord of all things if we are to be saved." There are teachers, though, who declare that it is possible to receive Jesus as Savior without bowing to his Lordship. I remember, years ago, when I was in seminary, it became popular to say stuff like, "At such-and-such a time, I made Jesus my Saviour, today, I am making him my Lord!" I rejected that concept, even back then (20 some-odd years ago). These teachers would have us believe that a person can fail to live "Christianly" for their entire lives, yet be saved. It is possible that these teachers see any requirement for works to be adding to faith in terms of justification.

This teaching misrepresents the biblical teaching on faith. Works do not contribute to our justification, that is true. But they demonstrate that saving faith is present. "Romans 6:1-4, James 2:14-26, and many other passages, are clear that obedience to Christ as Lord inevitably, necessarily, and immediately follows true faith." True believers desire to follow God. "These good works of obedience in no sense justify us, but if we do not have them, we do not possess the living faith that justifies."

What this does NOT mean (and there are many who get this wrong, as well) is that if we sin, we have lost our salvation. You cannot lose your salvation. Period. What is does mean is that if someone claims to have been saved, and their life never changes, the evidence says that their "conversion" was not authentic.

Jesus is Lord. If he is your Savior, he is your Lord.



Holiness Day By Day

"How Thankful Are You?"
Psalm 9:1

Reading from the English Standard Version

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart;
I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.

I frequently acknowledge (both in this diary and elsewhere) that everything I have comes from God. But how often do I stop to say thanks to him? "At the end of a workday, do you take time to say, 'Thank You, heavenly Father, for giving me the skill, ability, and health to do my work today'?" Do I ever take inventory of the things in my house and give thanks for them? Do I give thanks at mealtimes, and if so, is it just a routine, thoughtless babbling, or it is heartfelt thanks for God's provision?

Has our failure to continually thank God, and taking for granted his provision, become an "acceptable sin" for us? Especially for those of us who never have to go without a meal? That really pricks me to my heart. "Paul, in his description of a Spirit-filled person, said we're to be 'giving thanks always and for everything to God' (Ephesians 5:20)." Our entire lives should consist of continually giving thanks.

"Giving thanks to God for both His temporal and spiritual blessins in our lives is not just a nice thing to do--it's the moral will of God. Failure to give Him the thanks due Him is sin. It may seem like a benign sin to us because it doesn't harm anyone else. But it's an affront and insult to the One who created us and sustains us every second of our lives."



Father, I am hanging my head in shame right now, for I have been lacking in thanking you for your blessings. Not completely lacking, because I do, from time to time, give you thanks, especially when I'm finishing up these devotional times. And let it be said, Lord, that I don't type these prayers out just so other people can see them. It really doesn't matter to me who reads this or doesn't. It's for me and for you. If someone else is inspired by it, that's bonus. Nevertheless, I have failed in my task to lead a life of thanksgiving. I pray for reminders to do so. Give me "pokes" throughout the day to remind me that I need to give thanks. Let me look for things to thank you for. I daresay that, if I were constantly on the lookout for things to give thanks for, I would find temptation to be much less potent. And what about the message sent to my family and friends?? If they don't see me giving thanks, then they don't see it as important, either. Forgive me, Father!! Help me change this sin!

Jesus, I have long ago rejected the idea that you could be my Savior and not be my Lord. I realize that I have not lived up to your commands perfectly. I also realize that neither has Billy Graham, or John MacArthur or John Piper. Nevertheless, we are to be obedient. My obedience is, no doubt, not acceptable. I pray for discipline in my life to be more obedient to you, thereby exhibiting Lordship. You are Lord. Demonstrate that in my life, Jesus!

Not for my sake, Lord, but for your glory. Not to us, but to your name be the glory.



Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com