Justification by Faith Alone
2009-10-22

Almost Friday...boy am I ready, too.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 113:1-4. Reading from The Message.

Hallelujah!
You who serve GOD, praise GOD!
Just to speak his name is praise!
Just to remember GOD is a blessing--now and tomorrow and always.
From east to west, from dawn to dusk, keep lifting all your praises to GOD!
GOD is higher than anything and anyone, outshining everything you can see in the skies.

"The prophet confirms that the praises of God must be continued throughtout the whole course of our life. If his name is to be continually praised, it ought, at least, to be our earnest endeavor, during our brief pilgrimage here, that the remembrance of it may flourish after we are dead."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Great Exchange"
Romans 4:1-8

Reading from the English Standard Version

What then shall we say was gained by Abraham, our forefather according to the flesh? For if Abraham was justified by works, he has something to boast about, but not before God. For what does the Scripture say? "Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness." Now to the one who works, his wages are not counted as a gift but as his due. And to the one who does not work but trusts him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is counted as righteousness, just as David also speaks of the blessing of the one to whom God counts righteousness apart from works:

"Blessed are those whose lawless deeds are forgiven, and whose sins are covered;
blessed is the man against whom the Lord will not count his sin."

What is "justification?" "Fundamentally, justification is a legal declaration wherein God the Father pronounces us righteous through faith alone based on the merit of Christ alone. The righteousness that is imputed to our account is an alien righteousness, one that is wholly outside of ourselves. We are not justified based on the good works that we do but on the good works that Jesus has done."

God views us as righteous in Christ.



Holiness Day by Day

"Any Room For Grace?"
Romans 12:1

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.

God's goal is to conform us to the likeness of Christ, who was completely without sin. We cannot keep our commitment to holiness perfectly, but that should be our aim.

Is there any place for grace? Absolutely. In fact, in the above verse, Paul is making his appeal on the basis of God's mercy.

There is a relationship between grace and discipline. "A loving response to God's grace and mercy is the only motive acceptable to God for the commitment Paul called for."

This is why we need to preach the gospel to ourselves daily.



Father, it seems like I am always thanking you right off the bat for your mercy and grace. But I can't thank you enough for that, can I? For that is why I exist. I live because of your mercy and grace. Were it not for those, I would have died long ago, I feel sure of it. Nor would I have any spiritual life at all, which is the only life that really matters, anyway. Help me remember to remind myself of the truths of the gospel every day. So that I can shoot for the goal of conforming to the image of Christ.

I praise you for justification. Wow. What a marvelous truth of the gospel. I am so thankful that, when you look at me, you see the righteousness of Christ that has been imputed to me, rather than the ugliness of my sin. Hallelujah!



Preach the gospel every day. To yourself! We need a healthy reminder of the truth every day.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com