The Need For Gentleness
2009-10-18

A blessed Sunday morning to you. No, I'm not at a church meeting this morning, and probably won't be until at least November 1st, possibly November 8. There are exciting things on the horizon, though.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 112:5-8. Reading from The Message.

The good person is generous and lends lavishly;
No shuffling or stumbling around for this one.
But a sterling and solid and lasting reputation.
Unfazed by rumor and gossip,
Heart ready, trusting in GOD,
Spirit firm, unperturbed,
Ever blessed, relaxed among enemies,

"It is the truly liberal, who from compassion, and not with the design of ensnaring the poor, grant relief to them, that God makes prosperous. The righteous will manage their affairs with prudence and discernment; so that, in their domestic affairs, they will neither be too lavish nor sordidly parsimonious; but, in everything they will study to combine frugality with economy, without giving way to luxury."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

I confess...I had to look up "parsimonious." It means "excessively sparing or frugal." In other words, "stingy." So, the righteous man will be both frugal and generous, not stingy.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Zenas Who?"
Weekend Reading

At the end of his letter to Titus, Paul includes his traditional greeting to various people. In this one, though, we get some unusual ones. "When I send Artemas or Tychicus to you, do your best to come to me at Nicopolis, for I have decided to spend the winter there. Do your best to speed Zenas the lawyer and Apollos on their way; see that they lack nothing." (Titus 3:12-13)

Do we even know who some of these people are? As the title of the article says, "Zenas who?" Do we know which person came to Crete to relieve Titus so he could come visit Paul in Nicopolis? Do we even know where Nicopolis was? According to 2 Timothy 4:10, we know that, just before Paul was executed in Rome, Titus was in Dalmatia, which was, apparently, just north of Nicopolis. "However, as we look at these verses we realize that we know little or nothing of the names, places, and actions that are mentioned."

Is there a lesson in this lack of knowledge? Perhaps. "We do not serve Christ in order that we or our works will be known or remembered in this world." We must understand that the work is God's not ours. The plan is God's. One thing this means is that, if the pastor of your church is not living up to your expectations, perhaps you should step back and pray to see what God's plan might be, rather than attempting to undermine his authority and seeking to have him removed from the post God placed him in. "It was not Paul's place to know all the reasons for God's instructions or all the results of his efforts."

"We are not here to serve self or fame. We are not here so that our names and our accomplishments will be carved into some marble memorials." We must get away from the natural inclination to want others to know what we have done.

Someday, when we see God face to face, we will know who Zemas was and what he (she??) did. But until then, we would do well to remember what is the bottom line of this article, yet never spoken by it (at least not in these words...):

IT IS NOT ABOUT US!!!



Holiness Day By Day

"Treating Others Gently"
Matthew 11:29

Reading from the English Standard Version

Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gently and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

One characteristic of gentleness is that we should actively seek to make others feel at ease in our presence. "We should not be so strongly opinionated or dogmatic that others are afraid to express their opinions in our presence." (Pardon me while I go get my steel-toed shoes.) "We should also avoid displaying our commitment to Christian discipleship in such a way as to make others feel guilty, taking care not to break the bruised reed of the hurting Christian or snuff out the smoldering wick of the immature Christian." That's a dangerous statement, isn't it? Because there would be those who would stop reading after the word "discipleship," and say "He said that we should avoid displaying our commitment to discipleship!!" But that's not all of it. The point is the effect we have on those around us.

We must also, in gentleness, respect the dignity of the other person. Is it possible to try to change a person's opinion by persuasion and kindness, rather than domination or intimidation? We should also avoid attempting to coerce by threatening.

"Gentleness will also avoid blunt and abrupt speech, instead seeking to answer everyone with sensitivity and respect, ready to show consideration toward all." (Adding shin guards to the steel-toed shoes.) We do not have the liberty to just say what we think and consequences be damned. (Gasp! He said "damned!") We must be sensitive to the feelings of others. If we must wound someone with words, we should also stand ready to bind up those wounds with encouragement.

"Finally, gentle Christians will not degrade or belittle or gossip about the brother or sister who falls into some sin." They will grieve for them and pray for them, and seek to restore them gently, if personal involvement is appropriate, remembering that we are all subject to temptation.

This was a very painful reading, and much needed for me.



Father, I fall on my face before you this morning and confess that I am not a gentle Christian. I have a real problem with this. I have a serious problem speaking abruptly, with little or no regard for the other person's feelings or dignity. I express my opinions so strongly that others feel uncomfortable around me, sometimes even my wife and children. Dear God, that pains me greatly, and I desperately cry out for you to change me by the power of your Holy Spirit! Make me gently. I have the Spirit of Christ, who was gentle (except when he used whips on the money changers and fussed at the Pharisees...) with all he encountered. I thank you for the example of Phillipp, at work, who obviously possesses the quality of gentleness, as evidenced by the number of people who will just walk up to him and open up their lives to him. But I'm not asking to be like Phillipp, for he is merely a man. I'm asking to be like Jesus. Give me gentleness, grace, and mercy toward others, in the abundance that you have given them to me!

I also pray, Father, that I never become guilty of desiring fame in your name. Let me be satisfied with simply doing the work that you have given me. It just so happens that the ministry you have given involves being, sometimes, on a stage in front of people. However, I pray that there be no "spotlight" on me. I am simply there to help people come into your presence, to "enter in," as it were. Nothing more. Let me always be humble in the ministry of worship. If my pride starts building up, put it down. If my ego starts swelling, stick a needle in it. My desire is for you.

Keep us always generous, Father. That has not really been an issue for us, as we are always donating to whoever comes around, needing donations (if we feel conviction that it is a legitimate need). We could probably be more liberal with our time, and may soon have opportunity to do so. But keep us generous and never let us get "parsimonious."

Thank you for these lessons today, Lord.



Whew. I feel a little beaten down this morning, but in a good way. There were some very important lessons in there. Most importantly, the need to be gentle with all people. I covet prayers for this change in my life.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com