Mercy
2009-10-14

What happened yesterday? Oh, yeah. I had to go to the grocery store after getting home from my daily taxi-service from school. And I was exhausted from getting woken by a phone call from the school at shortly before 1pm. Lately, I have been having a really hard time getting back to sleep after waking up for anything. Ugh.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 111:1-4. Reading from The Message.

Hallelujah!
I give thanks to GOD with everything I've got--
Wherever good people gather, and in the congregation.
GOD's works are so grea, worth a lifetime of study--endless enjoyment!
Splendor and beauty mark his craft;
His generosity never gives out.
His miracles are his memorial--
This GOD of Grace, this GOD of Love.

"...when he says that the excellency of the works of God is known to all who desire it, he means that none are ignorant of it, except such as are willfully blind, or rather, malignantly and contemptuously quench the light which is offered to them. We must, however, attend to the means which we possess for arriving at the knowledge of these works, because we know, that as long as the faithful are on earth, their understandings are dull and weak, so that they cannot penetrate the mysteries, or comprehend the height of the works of God."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

Amen to the "dull and weak" part!



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Work of the Holy Spirit"
Titus 3:5

Reading from the English Standard Version

he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit,

What a glorious verse this is! Doing good works is not negotiable for the believer; we must have good works in our lives. They are, essentially, the proof of our salvation. What they are not, however, is the basis of our salvation. Paul makes it very clear in this verse that our redemption is not in any way based on anything we do "in righteousness." As John Calvin has said, "We bring nothing to God...he goes before us by his pure grace, without any regard to works."

"The ultimate cause of our salvation, Paul explains, is the mercy of God." There is nothing we can do to make ourselves worthy of such mercy. God must take the initiative in salvation, because we would never seek his mercy without his prior intervention. "But God pours out His mercy on those whom He has chosen from the foundation of the world to be His friends, redeeming them through 'the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit.'"

That, my friends, is truly the Good News!



Holiness Day by Day

"Specific Commitments"
Daniel 1:8

Reading from the English Standard Version

But Daniel resolved that he would not defile himself with the king's food, or with the wine that he drank. Therefore he asked the chief of the eunuchs to allow him not to defile himself.

The author finds, in addition to the overall commitment to pursue holiness, that it is helpful to make "specific commitments in areas where we're particularly vulnerable to sin."

We can list areas where we know we are vulnerable, where we have weakness. They should be written, for your eyes only, in order to be reviewed and prayed over daily.

Without commitment, we tend to vacillate. Commitment in specific areas, along with prayer can be instrumental in our pursuit of holiness. Commitment without prayer is, well, pretty much worthless. The author didn't say that last bit, I did. But it's true.

So...commit, but pray. Perhaps pray first, then commit. That's probably wiser.



Father, help me see areas in my life that need stronger commitments in my pursuit of holiness. I'm sure there are plenty. But give me the discipline each day to pray over these areas, as well as praying with intercession over people that I know need prayer. Strengthen my daily prayer life.

I praise you, God, that you chose me before the foundations of the world, and then saved me by the washing of regeneration and the renewal of the Holy Spirit. I give you thanks that my salvation is not dependent on any works that I might or might not do. Heaven forbid that my salvation were dependent on me!! I would be doomed! Your grace and mercy poured out on me are glorious, and more than sufficient in my life. Let me never take them for granted or cease thanking you for them!

Give me eyes to see the depths of your mysteries. Help me fathom your mercies daily. Let me know the heighths and depths of your love for me.

Hallelujah!



Seek his holiness. Seek his face. Endeavor to know the mysteries of God in the world around us. But most of all, pray and give thanks for his mercy.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com