Motivation for Obedience and Praise
2009-10-08

Yesterday, at this time, I was sitting with Stephie at the doctor's office. Fortunately, she only has an upper respiratory infection. No flu. Thank you, Lord. I didn't think it was flu, anyway. Wrong symptoms...no fever, etc. Anyway...that's why no devotion yesterday.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 104:29-32. Reading from The Message.

If you turned your back, they'd die in a minute--
Take back your Spirit and they die, revert to original mud;
Send out your Spirit and they spring to life--the whole countryside in bloom and blossom.

The glory of GOD--let it last forever! Let GOD enjoy his creation!
He takes one look at earth and triggers an earthquake, points a finger at the mountains, and volcanoes erupt.

"In these words, the Psalmist declares that we stand or fall according to the will of God. We continue to live, as long as he sustains us by his power; but no sooner does he withdraw his life-giving spirit than we die. Even Plato knew this, who so often teaches that, properly speaking, there is but one God, and that all things subsist, or have their being only in him."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Self-Controlled Younger Men"
Titus 2:6-7

Reading from the English Standard Version

Likewise, urge the younger men to be self-controlled. Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity,

One of the keys to wise and holy living is the piece of the "fruit of the Spirit," known as self-control. Paul does not mean some kind of asceticism that refuses to take part in the good things of life that God has created for us to enjoy. But we are not to become enslaved to said enjoyment of good things. In verse 7, though, the focus shifts to Titus (and all elders of the church), as it admonishes him to model this behavior. We must model works of integrity and dignity.



Holiness Day by Day

"Motivating Reverence"
Psalm 19:9

Reading from the English Standard Version

The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever;
the rules of the LORD are true, and righteous altogether.

When Joseph was tempted by Potiphar's wife, he didn't think about the wrath of Potiphar, or even the loss of God's blessings. He was motivated by reverence for God. "How then can I do this great wickedness and sin against God?" he asked. (Genesis 39:9 ESV) And this reverence for God was maintained even after he was sold into slavery by his own flesh and blood!

In 2 Corinthians 7:1, Paul says, "Since we have these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit, bringing holiness to completion in the fear of God." (ESV) What are "these promises?" In the previous verse, 6:18, God promises (among other things in the paragraph) to be our Father and to make us his sons and daughters. Philip Hughes comments, "The logical consequence of possessing such promises is that Christ's followers should make a complete break with every form of unhealthy compromise." "Here again, promises come before duty, and duty flows out of a heartfelt response to the promises of God."

What is this "reverence?" "It's a recognition of God's intrinsic worthiness, the infinite majesty of His being, and the infinite perfection of His character. Because of who He is and what He is, God is infinitely worthy of my most diligent and loving obedience, even if I never receive a single blessing from His hand." Did you catch that? "God is infinitely worthy of my most diligent and loving obedience, even if I never receive a single blessing from His hand." How many people do you know or have you seen whose praise and adoration of God is directly tied to the blessings that they receive? Remember what Job said? "Though he slay me, I will hope in him;" Even if I never receive another blessing from God, he is worthy of my praise and reverence.



Father, I praise you because you are worthy of it. I am grateful for the blessings that you have given me throughout my life, and they are many; so many I could never count them. But my praise is not based on that. My praise is based on who you are and what you deserve. I deserve nothing. You deserve everything. Help me keep that in perspective.

I pray for the wisdom and strength to model behavior of integrity and dignity. I am suddenly finding myself in a position where that is going to be more important than ever. This is humbling, and just a little frightening. But with your spirit in me, nothing is impossible. I pray that I will not compromise my faith in you. I keep praying for that strength to live out what I believe. Of course, that is part of what integrity is. Help me "walk the talk." Remind me to look at sin in the same light that Joseph did when Potiphar's wife tried to seduce him. The wickedness of sin shows lack of reverence and honor for your majesty and glory. If we all keep that truth in front of us, it will be easier to resist temptations.

Thank you for sustaining my life. I thank you for breath. I thank you that my heart continues to beat. And when the day comes that you have chosen to stop it, I look forward to rushing into your open arms at the end of this road.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

Pray for our President and policy makers in managing a new record budget deficit as economic conditions are impacting churches, ministries and families across America.
Congressional analysts said Wednesday that the federal budget deficit tripled to a record $1.4 trillion for the 2009 fiscal year that ended last week. The unprecedented flood debt flows from several factors, including a big drop in tax revenues due to the recession, $245 billion in emergency spending on the Wall Street bailout and the takeover of mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Then there is almost $200 billion in costs from the economic stimulus bill, as well as increases in programs such as unemployment benefits and food stamps. The previous record deficit was $459 billion and was set just last year. The president has attributed the nation's dismal fiscal situation to the financial and economic crises he inherited. White House Budget Director Peter Orzsag is overseeing the administration's efforts to tackle the soaring deficit next year.

I can't even process that amount...



Tonight at work, I plan to focus on this reverence for God. Also, for the next three days, I will be without access to computer or television, as Christi and I spend our annual anniversary weekend in a cabin on the Paluxy River in Glen Rose. I will have devotions on the front porch of our cabin in a rocking chair with a nice cup of coffee. I just won't be able to post them online.

Try not to be too jealous...

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com