Put On Positive Traits
2009-10-02

FRIDAY!!!! Oh. Sorry, Robert. Heh.


My Psalm reading for today is Psalm 103:18 (we're blazing through that one, eh?). Reading in The Message.

Making everything right for them and their children as they follow his Covenant ways and remember to do whatever he said.

(Speaking of God's commands and precepts...) "Although God is continually putting us in mind of them, yet we soon slide away to worldly cares--are confused by a multiplicity of avocations, and are lulled asleep by many allurements. Thus forgetfulness extinguishes the light of truth, unless the faithful stir up themselves from time to time. David tells us that this remembrance of God's statutes has an invigorating effect when men employ themselves in doing them."

I can vouch for the truth of this.



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Conduct of Older Men"
Titus 2:2

Reading from the English Standard Version.

Older men are to be sober-minded, dignified, self-controlled, sound in faith, in love, and in steadfastness.

Whew. Glad I'm not "older." What? I am?? Dang.

So Paul starts out here with instructions to different ages and sexes. He starts out with "older men." In Paul's culture, that was probably what we consider "middle-aged." So, yes, by Paul's standards, I probably am "older." Sigh.

Anyway, it goes without saying that any believer would do well to live by these qualities.

First is "sober-minded," which is being clear-headed, necessary for successful, holy living. "The man who is sober-minded has his thoughts and intentions centered upon the Lord and is kept in perfect peace, not making rash decisions because of a troubled conscience or disturbing circumstances."

Next is "dignified" and "self-controlled." (I'm starting to fade on this one.) "They are to have a way about them that commands respect as they are observed by others." Does this mean I shouldn't be bouncing up and down at the Switchfoot concert?? Point is, we should be full of grace and goodness, renewing the inner man as the outer man decays.

These traits are grounded in sound faith. They are virtually unattainable outside of the gospel of Christ. That's where sound faith comes in, along with love for God's Word, and steadfastness in his truth.



Holiness Day by Day

"The Increasing Pull"
Galatians 6:8

Reading from the English Standard Version.

For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.

"Sin has a tendency to exert an ever-increasing power on us if it isn't resisted on every occasion." I can vouch for the truth of this, too. Sin will exert a greater and greater pull if we give in to temptation. And, on this principle, it really doesn't matter whether the sin is "big" or "small." "Saying yes to any temptation weakens our commitment to resist sin."

In addition, though, to making the "negative commitment" to not sin willfully, we need to make the "positive commitment" to "put on or clothe ourselves with the positive virtues of Christian character." From Colossians 3:12, this list is compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

"It's not enough to stop cheating on our income tax returns; we must also learn to share with those in need. It's not enough to avoid being bitter against those who have wronged us; we need to forgive as God has forgiven us." I have to stop right there because I'm really dealing with that one right now. There is someone that has done some great harm (not physical) to me and others that I love. He is lying and perpetrating a terrible lie to people that I really care about, and I am having a really hard time not being bitter towards him. I used to think he was a godly man. I know now that this is not true. Nevertheless, according to God's Word, I must forgive, and I am struggling very, very hard with this. It's just very difficult to learn that a man that you have worked with for years is really a liar, and seeks only his own interests, disguising it as "ministry." If you read this, please pray for me.



Father, I pray deeply for the ability to forgive and to release this bitterness I'm feeling. It's not right. It doesn't matter what the hurt. What matters that that brothers are at odds. I just need your help with this one.

I thank you for the ability to resist temptation. I pray that it continuously grow stronger in my life. But I also pray that I will more than ever put on the positive traits of Christ in my life. As I grow older, let me grow more mature. In other words, Father, I'm asking you to help me "grow up." Grow in me the traits that an "older man" should exhibit. Mind you, I'm not asking to be stuffy and boring. Just that I might carry myself with dignity and self-control.

Always keep me reminded of your precepts and statutes that I might not forget and be lulled asleep by the things of this world. I've been guilty of that many times in my life, falling asleep. Keep me awake, Lord. Keep me excited about you.

Father, I pray for our President today as he takes advice from his advisors and military commanders in managing the war in Afghanistan. I also pray for the continued protection of our armed forces, especially the ones on foreign soil.



Sorry about my little rant back there. As you can see, it's a real struggle for me. I covet your prayers.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com