Well Done, Good and Faithful Servant
2009-10-01

Lord, forgive me for my laziness this week. I have spent very little time in prayer and study this week. There's no catching up, so I will just pick up and carry on.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 103:17. Reading from The Message.

God's love, though, is ever and always, eternally present to all who fear him.

"The Psalmist leaves nothing to men to rely upon but the mercy of God; for it would be egregious folly to seek a ground of confidence in themselves."

"The faithful who are regenerated by the Spirit of God, and who worship him with true devotion, these are the persons whom he leaves nothing on which their hope may rest but the mere goodness of God."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Call to Sound Doctrine"
Titus 2:1

Reading from the English Standard Version.

But as for you, teach what accords with sound doctrine.

Titus has been entrusted with completeing the organization of the church on Crete. He is to appoint elders who will "shepherd the church in godliness, truth, and love." Today's passage begins a description of the kind of teaching that the elders need to pass along. Everything that follows over the next few days will fall under the category of "sound doctrine," and is important, not just to elders, but also to the individual believers within the church. And, contrary to what pop culture might say, "sound doctrine" never changes.



Holiness Day by Day

"Growing in Faithfulness"
Revelation 2:10

Reading from the English Standard Version.

Do not fear what you are about to suffer. Behold, the devil is about to throw some of you into prison, that you may be tested, and for ten days you will have tribulation. Be faithful unto death, and I will give you the crown of life. (Written to the church in Smyrna.)

What is the biblical standard for faithfulness? "Faithfulness entails absolute honesty, utter dependability, and unswerving loyalty." The Old Testament person of Daniel comes to mind.

We should constantly be evaluating our lives based on a biblical standard of faithfulness. We can depend on the Holy Spirit's help, and should also seek out the assistance of close friends (dependable ones, that is).

When we see a need in our lives in relation to faithfulness, we should make it both a matter of serious prayer, and of concrete action. But we must also remember that all action on our part is useless without God's help. "You cannot become a faithful person merely by trying." On the other hand, neither can you become faithful without trying. We and God must work together.

What is the reward for faithfulness? I believe it is hearing our Master say, "Well done, good and faithful servant." What more reward do I need?



Father, I've not been faithful this week, have I? I have skipped times of devotion and prayer. And, honestly, this has made me more irritable. Funny how that works. I pray for more faithfulness in my relationship with you, Lord. Keep me connected on a daily basis with you. Don't let me falter.

I pray for sound doctrine in my beliefs. I have always sought to be a believer in sound doctrine, as taught by Scripture. I pray that I never fall prey to false teachings or popular teachings. There are too many churches today that are "preaching" a "gospel" of pop culture. I pray that I never do that, and that I will never be part of a church that goes down that path. I pray that I will soon be leading worship again and that I will be faithful in that endeavor. Faithful to only use worship songs that speak truth and that glorify and magnify you and only you.

Lord, I know that I have no other hope but you. I have nothing within myself, save the spirit of Christ, that is worthy of grasping. My only hope is you. And I am glad of that. I don't want to have anything of my own that I can depend on.

Father, as I look at prayer requests on the Presidential Prayer Team site, I am drawn to especially lift up the victims of the tsunami in Samoa. At least 150 people total have been killed by this tsunami, around 31 being in American Samoa. I lift up all families that have been affected and pray for quick relief for all of them.



What a joy it will be if, when my life is over, I can stand before my savior and hear him say, "Well done, good and faithful servant." That is a worthy goal for a life.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com