I Stand Amazed
2009-09-27

I'm up way too early again. I'm really getting weary of this not being able to sleep on Saturday night/Sunday morning. I don't get it. (I've actually been up over an hour before starting this entry.)


My Psalm for today is Psalm 103:14-16. Reading from The Message.

He knows us inside and out,
keeps in mind that we're made of mud.
Men and women don't live very long;
like wildflowers they spring up and blossom,
But a storm snuffs them out just as quickly,
leaving nothing to show they were here.

"David here annihilates all the worth with men would arrogate to themselves...This again we ought carefully to mark, not only for the purpose of subduing the pride of our flesh, but also that a sense of our unworthiness may not prevent us from trusting in God."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"On Being Negative"
Weekend Reading

At the end of Paul's description of qualified leaders/elders for the church, he gives a reason why we need godly leaders. It's because there are lots of bad people out there. "They are rebellious, empty talkers, deceivers. Their influence is corrosive; they are upsetting whole families, teaching bad things, and so they must be silenced."

We must be careful that we are standing on the solid ground of Scripture. "Too many loud, angry Christian voices lack nuance. Too often we are asked to 'take a stand' on complex issues that we barely understand. How many times have conservative Christians been made to look foolish because they have firmly planted their feet, not on the solid ground of biblical truth, but in the thin air of political or social opinions and preferences?"

AMEN! AMEN! AMEN!

The church must distinguish truth from error! We like to think that if we preach only the truth, perhaps error will fall on its own. Maybe there is no need to criticize those with whom we differ. Why is it necessary to be critical of other people's beliefs? It's true, they may not agree with biblical truth. But if we simply preach the truth, then we have done our duty.

But Paul wasn't the only one in the Bible who went negative on people. Jesus did the same when he called the Pharisees "vipers, fools, hypocrites, blind guids," etc. Jesus and Paul both felt the need to use strong warnings. Why are we different today?

Personally, I think it's because it has become "politically incorrect" (oh, how I despise that phrase) to criticize others. Unless you're critizing Christians, of course. However, it benefits people if we say to them, "Here are some good teachers, and here are some of whom you should beware." "Due diligence requires that the church both proclaim the truth and attack error."

But we should also note that most, if not all, of Paul's warnings and cautions came against those who were trying to interject false teachings into the church. When it came to other philosophies and religions, he simply would engage them in debate. So what I get from Paul's teaching is that we need to be zealous in protecting the truth as it applies to the church. We need not attack other religions, but we should be ready to defend our own.



Holiness Day by Day

"Who Was Paid?"
1 Timothy 2:5-6

Reading from the English Standard Version.

5 For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, 6 who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.

If Christ paid a ransom, to whom was it paid? Did he pay Satan? Many, over time, have believed this to be true. But how can it be true?? If it were, Satan would have been victorious, would he not? "The better answer is obviously that the ransom was paid to God acting in His capacity as Judge." Jesus satisfied God's justice. Jesus emptied God's cup of wrath. Jesus bore God's curse on humanity for our sin.

The whole "ransom" analogy breaks down at some point, though, because God both demanded and paid the "ransom." Jesus was both the redeemer and the ransom.

"We should never cease to be amazed that the One who established the Law and determined its curse should Himself ransom us from it by bearing that curse in our place."

Such amazing love! "Amazing love, how can it be? That you my King would die for me!"



Lord, it seems like I'm always winding up praising your grace and mercy at the end of these sessions. I can never completely fathom what you have done for us, your children. Therefore, every time I come to this point, I must praise you as if I've never heard this before. It is such wonderful news, indeed! I will never fully understand the scope of your love for us, and the mercy and grace that you demonstrated by dying for us to satisfy your own justice. I stand amazed, Father.

I pray that I will always stand only on the solid ground of your Word. I have never felt the need to champion a "cause" in your name, Lord, because the only "cause" worth serving is your salvation. Don't ever let me get caught up in anything that puts political opinion or popular belief over your truth.

Finally, Father, I am grateful that you have given me a healthy self-image. That being that I know that I am a "son of dust." I am nothing more than dirt and mud. I have no worth, outside of you. With you in my life, I have priceless value, but it all comes from you. I acknowledge that, and I believe that gives me a better appreciation for that grace and mercy I spoke of earlier. I pray that this would flow out of me to influence others.



Pray for wisdom and guidance for our President and our allies in addressing the delicate foreign policy issues involved with Iran's nuclear policy violations. Pray for peace in Israel.
Iran has revealed the existence of a secret uranium-enrichment plant, the International Atomic Energy Agency said Friday, a development that could heighten fears about Teheran's ability to produce a nuclear weapon and escalate its diplomatic confrontation with the West. US President Barack Obama and the leaders of France and Britain accused Iran of hiding the facility in an address at the opening of the G-20 economic summit this morning (Friday). President Obama, British Prime Minister Gordon Brown and French President Nicolas Sarkozy demanded at a press event that Teheran open the covert facility to inspections by the International Atomic Energy Agency. Iran is under three sets of UN Security Council sanctions for refusing to freeze enrichment at what had been its single known enrichment plant, which is being monitored by the IAEA. Two officials told the AP that Iran revealed the existence of the second plant in a letter sent Monday to International Atomic Energy Agency chief Mohamed ElBaradei.

Indeed, our world situation is in desperate need of prayer.



I pray you all have a blessed day today.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com