Joy In the Workplace
2009-09-25

It's Friday!! Woohoo!!


My Psalm for today is Psalm 103:7-8. Reading from The Message.

He showed Moses how he went about his work,
opened up his plans to all Israel.
God is sheer mercy and grace;
not easily angered, he's rich in love.

"We see that whenever God is mentioned, the minds of men are perversely carried away to cold speculations, and fix their attention on things which meet our eyes, and which afford a vivid reflection of his character. To whatever subjects men apply their minds, there is none from which they will derive greater advantage than from continual meditation on his wisdom, goodness, righteousness, and mercy; and especially the knowledge of his goodness is fitted both to build up our faith, and to illustrate his praises."

And later...

"Again, when we ought to rely upon the grace of God, our minds tremble or waver, and there is nothing in which we find greater difficulty than to acknowledge that he is merciful to us. David, to meet and overcome this doubting state of mind, afer the example of Moses, employs these synonymous terms: first, that God is merciful; secondly, that he is gracious, thirdly, that he patiently and compassionately bears with the sins of men; and, lastly, that he is abundant in mercy and goodness."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Finding a Job That Fits"
Deuteronomy 29:29

Reading from the English Standard Version.

The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things that are revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may do all the words of this law.

(I once had a teacher who claimed he tried this verse as an answer to a test question...didn't work.)

In most writing, we find God's will described in two different ways. First, there is his hidden will. This includes everything that ever happens, good and evil. God's hidden will always prevails. It is also unknowable (at least until after the fact). It also contains many mysteries.

"We may never know God's hidden will, even in eternity. Yet we can know His revealed will." This gives us details of deeds and affections that please him. Scripture contains God's revealed will.

Therefore, one way to know what pleases God is through Bible study. Such knowledge can also help us choose our vocation. "If we find something we like to do, are skilled to do, and is lawful according to Scripture, then we need not worry about whether it is our calling." (I think I said something just like this in a previous entry.)

Seriously, I have met people who, when faced with two job choices, start leaning towards the one they like least! I don't know why some people have so much trouble thinking that God might actually want them to be, you know, happy! Why on earth would our Father want us to have a job we hated? Sometimes we have no choices. But if there is one, for goodness sake, take the one that is most appealing, as long as all other qualifications are met.

I like the way this reading ends. "Do you find yourself in a job that is less than ideal but which you are unable to leave? Ask the Lord to give you joy in your work and look for someone who can help you find the good aspects of your present situation. If God has put you in authority over other people, look for ways that you can help those whom you supervise enjoy their jobs and see the importance of their work. Whatever your current area of work, serve your employers--and thus God--faithfully."



Holiness Day by Day

"What Is Your Intention?"
Romans 12:1

Reading from the English Standard Version.

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.

When we initially think about a commitment to God, to present our bodies as living sacrifices, to allow no exceptions to obedience, we might first think of the impossibility of such a commitment. This makes us, of course, reluctant to make a commitment we know we can't keep. But am I willing to make that my aim, my goal? I must make this commitment if I am to progress in the pursuit of holiness.

Is it my intention to please God in all my actions? This is the commitment that is being called for by Paul in today's verse. This is the key to commitment to a life of holiness. "If we don't make such a commitment to obedience without exception, we'll constantly find ourselves making exceptions. We'll have a 'just one more time' syndrome in our lives. But the truth is, the 'one more time' manner of thinking undermines our commitment."

What matters is not so much our actions (and potential failures), but our intent. Do we have the intent to please God?



My Father, I praise you that you are merciful and gracious; that you patiently and compassionately bear with our sins, and that you are abundant in mercy and goodness. I don't think that we could survive for a minute if this were not the case. Furthermore, we do not deserve all of these characteristics in our lives, because we tend to not be committed to a life of holiness.

I confess that I have shied away from serious commitment at times, because I feared failure. But it must be my intent to please you in all that I do. Otherwise, I go nowhere in my life. I cannot increase in holiness without this kind of commitment. I pray for the seriousness to keep that commitment, Father. I pray for the grace to hold up to it. Let my daily intent be to please you in all that I do, in word, thought, and deed.

I thank you that I have a job. And I thank you that, by your mercy, you have given me a better attitude about my job in the past few weeks. I pray that this would continue. Help me find joy in my work, as long as I am working. We are so grateful, Father, that we both continue to have jobs in this time of a very shaky economy. I pray that we keep those jobs, and I pray that our nation's economy will begin to recover.

I pray for the leaders in our nation, who have the daunting task of trying to deal with all of the issues that are plaguing our country right now. I sure wouldn't want their job. I pray that they would seek your face and your wisdom as they make decisions about our economy, our healthcare, and our national security. I praise you most intensely for protecting us from the fanatic who tried to bomb a building in downtown Dallas yesterday!

Bind my heart to your name, O Lord! May I never stray from your path.



I look forward to seeing what things God is going to bring my way in the near future!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com