For What Reason?
2009-09-15

After having an evening from the pits of Hades, I'm back again. Moving on. I'm very excited about something and I can't talk about it. Heh. That's the pits. I'll be able to eventually. Let's just say that God is definitely moving.


Looking at the Presidential Prayer Team site: (Not sure I like the new design...harder to navigate.)

Vice President Biden in Baghdad to Support Troops.
Vice President Joe Biden arrived in Baghdad early this morning, his second visit to the war zone this summer. The White House announced the surprise trip just after 8:30 a.m. and said the vice president would meet with troops and Iraqi leaders and representatives of the United Nations mission there. "Vice President Biden will convey the strong U.S. commitment to Iraq's future and national unity," the White House said in a statement. The group left Washington Monday night at 7:15 p.m. Pray for safety of the Vice President and his staff.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 102:8-10. Reading from The Message:

All day long my enemies taunt me,
while others just curse.
They bring in meals�casseroles of ashes!
I draw drink from a barrel of my tears.
And all because of your furious anger;
you swept me up and threw me out.

"The prophet now declares that the greatness of his grief proceeded not only from outward troubles and calamities, but from a sense that these were a punishment inflicted upon him by God. And surely there is nothing which ought to wound our hearts more deeply, than when we feel that God is angry with us."

"When God then strikes us with his hand, we should not merely groan under the strokes inflicted upon us, as foolish men usually do, but should chiefly look to the cause that we may be truly humbled."

Amen.

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Foundation for Instruction"
Titus 1:9

Reading from the English Standard Version

He must hold firm to the trustworthy word as taught, so that he may be able to give instruction in sound doctrine and also to rebuke those who contradict it.

Still talking about qualifications for elders...

Paul tells Titus that the elder must have a firm grasp on true doctrine. He had already stated in 1 Timothy that the elder must have an ability to teach. Here, we see another qualification that is related to teaching. If one is to teach, he must have a good grip on the truth. "All Christians, especially elders, ought to work to grow in their knowledge of these doctrines, increasingly dependent upon the Spirit to lead them to love and proclaim the essential truths of the faith."



Holiness Day by Day

"Sin and Self-Esteem"
2 Peter 1:5

Reading from the English Standard Version:

For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge,

"We should not seek holiness in order to feel good about ourselves, to blend in with our Christian peer group, or to avoid the sense of shame and guilt that follows the committing of persistent sin."

Wow. That may be one of the best statements I've ever read about holiness. Wait. Let's keep reading...

"Far too often our concern with sin arises from how it makes us feel. Sinful habits, sometimes called 'besetting sins,' cause us to feel defeated, and we don't like to be defeated in anything, whether it's a game of Ping-Pong or our struggle with sin."

Hey! How did this guy get inside my head??

The author writes of an event at a retreat where he spoke on the importance of putting on Christlike character while trying to put off sinful habits. All who came to him afterwards asked him for advice on dealing with sinful habits. None asked him for help in putting on Christlike character. The reason? Sinful habits make us feel guilty. The lack of Christlike character does not have a similar effect.

"We need to work at ensuring that our commitment to holiness is a commitment to God, not to our own self-esteem." Yes!! I need to read that again! "We need to work at ensuring that our commitment to holiness is a commitment to God, not to our own self-esteem." A nineteenth century writer said, "When we sin we are more vexed at the lowering of our self-esteem than we are grieved at God's dishonor. We are surprised and irritated at our own lack of self-control in subjecting ourselves to unworthy habits...The first cause of this is self-love, which is unable to stand the disappointment of not seeing ourselves in time of trial come out beautiful, erect, and admirable." (Frederick W. Faber, paraphrased by Jerry Bridges)



Father, I am almost made speechless by this last reading. I find truth in it. Great truth. I see myself in it. And it pains me. My desire is to know the pain that it causes you when I succumb to a sinful habit. Show me how much it hurts you. Help me get away from how I feel when I sin. I'm sure it's important that I feel remorse when I sin, but it needs to be primarily because I have offended you, not because it makes me feel bad. This is some eye-opening stuff, Father, that gets down into how we function, mentally. Our minds need healing. God, I am self-centered! As C.S. Lewis said, "I never had a selfless thought since I was born. I am mercenary and self-seeking through and through. I want God, you, all friends, merely to serve my turn." Dear Lord, forgive me and heal me. Draw me to you. Embrace me, fold me in your arms, hold me to your breast!

If I am to fulfill the calling you have placed on my life, I need to seek holiness, and for the right reasons. Open my eyes. Keep them focused on the right thing. The main thing. And the main thing is YOU.

Father, I pray that I will keep a firm grasp on the truth. I feel that I have been zealous for your truth. Let me read and study your Word with care.

And when I feel you hand upon me in a negative way, let me work to find the reason, rather than moaning over my condition.

May you be glorified by my life, Father!



I'm stunned by this reading on holiness today. I'm sure I've heard something similar before, but today it has had a tremendous impact on me. I pray that I can keep it right in the front of my brain for a while, so my heart can chew on it.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com