Dedication and Rekindling
2009-09-12

Welcome to the weekend.

Things are looking a little better for now. And no, I haven't given up hope, even though a previous entry might have looked that way. I never give up hope. It's just that, sometimes, I get really weary, and forget whence my strength comes. I trust I'm not alone in this.



Looking at the PPT web site:

The PPT is campaigning to send New Testaments and prayer journals to at least 20,000 troops by Christmas. We can join this campaign either by praying for them or contributing at their website. PPT website



My Psalm for today is Psalm 102:1-3. Reading from The Message:

1-2 God, listen! Listen to my prayer, listen to the pain in my cries.
Don't turn your back on me
just when I need you so desperately.
Pay attention! This is a cry for help!
And hurry�this can't wait!

3-11 I'm wasting away to nothing,
I'm burning up with fever.

This is a desperate cry for help from one attuned to the mercies of God. Says John Calvin, in Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms, "No person could utter these words with the mouth without profaning the name of God, unless he were, at the same time, actuated by a sincere and earnest affection of the heart." He also makes a point that, sometimes, the cry of the mouth can mold the affection of the heart. We can pray without speaking words, of course. But sometimes the words help us pray.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Elders for the Church on Crete"
Titus 1:5-6

Reading from the English Standard Version:

5 This is why I left you in Crete, so that you might put what remained into order, and appoint elders in every town as I directed you� 6 if anyone is above reproach, the husband of one wife, and his children are believers and not open to the charge of debauchery or insubordination.

"Being above reproach is not perfection but honesty regarding personal sin and corresponding evidence of repentance. No one is perfect until they are glorified, but all of us must constantly strive to turn from sin."



Holiness Day by Day

"Decisive Dedication"
Romans 6:13

Reading from the English Standard Version:

Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness.

Paul wrote the book of Romans to people who were already believers in Christ. He spent 11 chapters reviewing the gospel with them, reinforcing the fact that salvation is entirely by grace through faith.

The response then was "Present your bodies to God as a living sacrifice." He called for a once-for-all "decisive dedication" that is to be constantly reaffirmed and freshly kindled.



Father, I pray for this kind of affection and commitment in my life. I pray that I have, at some point, made this "decisive dedication" to you. Keep it fresh in my life and keep it "kindled" so that the flame of faith will burn ever brighter.

I pray for the leaders of our churches all over the world, that they will continue to be without reproach. I pray that those who are not will be brought down. Protect your church from those men who would harm it.



I will ponder today my dedication to God.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com