Holiness For Assurance
2009-09-11

Good evening, God.

I know. It's been several days. I'm sorry about that. It's been a rough week, but then you already know that, don't you? Today was better, but we've had to put Stephie back on some medication and we really didn't want to do that. Oh, well.

She, just like the rest of us, is your child, and in your hands. I pray that you would heal her mind. Her body needs some help, too, what with the arthritic symptoms that are going on in her ankles and wrists. Bless her hear, she really gets scared sometimes, because she truly doesn't understand what's going on in her body and brain.

I lift up our President to you, along with all of his surrounding support staff. I pray that everything that happens in our government would be according to your will.

I pray for the ongoing unrest in the Middle East. I also pray for our involvement in said unrest. I pray that our leaders would understand the futility in trying to get their cultures to think like us. I pray for this prayer item from the Presidential Prayer Team site:

Unrest in the Middle East. With a deadline to cooperate or face tougher sanctions fast approaching, Iran has presented a new "proposal" relating to its nuclear program to a group of leading governments. President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad sounded a defiant tone on Monday, saying the matter was closed. Two days later, however, the foreign minister distributed the proposal. The five permanent members of the U.N. Security Council - the United States, Russia, China, France and Britain - plus Germany (P5+1) are considering new sanctions if Iran does not respond by late this month to an offer, presented last April, to return to talks on its suspect nuclear activities. Pray for our foreign policy officials to navigate this sensitive situation for the peace of Israel and the Middle East.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 101. I read it from The Message Bible.

1-8My theme song is God's love and justice, and I'm singing it right to you, God.
I'm finding my way down the road of right living,
but how long before you show up?
I'm doing the very best I can,
and I'm doing it at home, where it counts.
I refuse to take a second look
at corrupting people and degrading things.
I reject made-in-Canaan gods,
stay clear of contamination.
The crooked in heart keep their distance;
I refuse to shake hands with those who plan evil.
I put a gag on the gossip
who bad-mouths his neighbor;
I can't stand
arrogance.
But I have my eye on salt-of-the-earth people�
they're the ones I want working with me;
Men and women on the straight and narrow�
these are the ones I want at my side.
But no one who traffics in lies
gets a job with me; I have no patience with liars.
I've rounded up all the wicked like cattle
and herded them right out of the country.
I purged God's city
of all who make a business of evil.

These are good attitudes for people of God to hold. "I refuse to take a second look at corrupting people and degrading things." "I refuse to shake hands with those who plan evil."

Father, I pray for discernment as I try to adopt the attitudes of David from this Psalm. Sometimes, what I perceive to be "evil" might not really be. If I'm in tune with you and your purposes, it will be easier to tell. So I need to get my own spirituality in line before I start refusing to shake hands with anyone.



Tabletalk Magazine

"One Family in Common Faith"
Titus 1:3-4

Reading from the English Standard Version:

3 and at the proper time manifested in his word through the preaching with which I have been entrusted by the command of God our Savior;

4 To Titus, my true child in a common faith:

Grace and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Savior.

When we identify Jesus as "Savior," we denounce all other pretenders to this title. When Paul wrote this letter to Titus, Roman emperors were hailed as "saviors." Calling Jesus by this title denounced the emperor. Today, we deny any false deities that would cry out for our worship by identifying Jesus as our only Savior.

Paul also made a very important point in this greeting. By calling Titus his "true child," Paul declares that faith in Christ Jesus supercedes even blood ties when it comes to "family." All of you out there who share faith in Christ are more part of my family than my own blood relatives. Fortunately, my blood parents are also my "faith parents," for it is they who led me to Jesus. (God is responsible, of course, not them.)

Father, I thank you for my brothers and sisters in Christ. Especially, at this time in our lives, they are proving to be great help and comfort. I also thank you that my biological parents are Christ followers and had an important part in my becoming one. I pray for deeper relationships with other believers in the future.



Holiness Day by Day

"Holy and Assured"
Romans 8:14

Reading from the English Standard Version:

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

The only safe assurance that we are saved is a holy life. (Not a perfect life, mind you...no such thing, besides Jesus.) But if we know nothing of holiness, if we have no desire to be living a holy life, if we do not grieve when we lack holiness...there's good chance that there is no Jesus in our lives, either.

However, if you are struggling with any of these issues, you're probably doing ok. It's the ones who aren't struggling that should be worrying.

Father, I thank you that you have given me a desire for a holy life. I've not done a very good job of striving for it, however. I pray for a stronger spirit when it comes to holiness. Pray that I would strive harder to live a holy life. I pray that I would be a better example for those around me. Let me never, EVER let "holiness" become a banner of pride around my neck. For that banner would quickly become a millstone that would sink me to the depths of the sea. Keep me humble, Father, as holiness increases. Let me always know that holiness comes from you, never from within me.



Keep these thoughts in mind. Strive for holiness. Strive for Jesus.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com