Committed to God, Not a Cause
2009-09-07

Wow. It was nice to sleep until 9:00 this morning! Unreal. Hope you all have a nice holiday. Unless you're working, in which case, well...that's just wrong.


Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

The President's Schedule Today - Monday. The President and his family have returned to Washington from spending the weekend at Camp David, the Presidential retreat in Maryland. He will be preparing for the busy week ahead with health care reform, and his Wednesday address to the nation, at the top of the list.



Psalm for today: 100:3-5

3 Know this: God is God, and God, God.
He made us; we didn't make him.
We're his people, his well-tended sheep.

4 Enter with the password: "Thank you!"
Make yourselves at home, talking praise.
Thank him. Worship him.

5 For God is sheer beauty,
all-generous in love,
loyal always and ever.
(The Message)

"...it must be remembered that the prophet is not here speaking of creation in general, but of that spiritual regeneration by which he creates anew his image of his elect. Believers are the persons whom the prophet here declares to be God's workmanship, not that they were made men in their mother's womb, but in that sense in which Paul, in Ephesians 2:10, calls them the workmanship of God, because they are created unto good works which God has before ordained that they should walk in them, and in reality this agrees best with the subsequent context."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"From One Servant to Another"
Titus 1:1-2

1:1 Paul, a servant of God and an apostle of Jesus Christ, for the sake of the faith of God's elect and their knowledge of the truth, which accords with godliness, 2 in hope of eternal life, which God, who never lies, promised before the ages began

The letter to Titus was written in the mid 60s. Titus, unlike Timothy, was a Gentile convert to Christ. He was a close associate of Paul's, gifted in handling contentious situations. He delivered Paul's letter to the Corinthians and collected money from Corinth for the church in Jerusalem.

At the time this letter was written, Titus was leading the church on the island of Crete.

Hopefully, as I study through Titus, I will find teaching that is beneficial to the church in our time.



Holiness Day by Day

"Commit Yourself to God"
Psalm 37:5

Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.

We are called upon by Scripture to commit ourselves to God. We are not asked to be committed to a cause or a team. We are not instructed to be committed to ourselves.

"When we commit ourselves to the pursuit of holiness, we need to ensure that our commitment is actually to God, not simply to a holy lifestyle or a set of moral values."



Lord, I pray that my commitment will be to you and not to any cause or set of values. That is probably one of the biggest mistakes we make in our lives. We get caught up in causes that mean something to us. I'm passionate about autism and research for it. But that means nothing in terms of my spiritual life. I need to be sure that I am committed to you and you alone.

I pray for the study through Titus this month. Show me truths that will have an impact on me and on the group of believers that I worship with. I pray that reading the Bible will always be new and alive to me. Let it never become old and stale.

I thank you and praise you for the truth taught in Psalm 100. I am truly yours, and you have made me. I did not make myself. I did not make myself a believer in you. You did this without any help from me. You are amazing, God!



I pray for a safe holiday for everyone.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com