Grace For the Non-Christian, Duty For the Christian?
2009-08-28

Yesterday, I had physical therapy right after getting Steph home from school. That makes getting to this difficult. I need to try to work something out so that I don't miss days.


Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

Auschwitz Death Camp Plans Given to Netanyahu. Twenty nine sketches of the death camp that was built in Nazi-occupied Poland that were recently discovered in Berlin last year were given to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu yesterday for display at Israel's official Holocaust museum. We pray that our nation's leaders never forget the lessons of the Holocaust and integrate that wisdom into our complex foreign policy.



Psalm for today: 97:1-6

1 God rules: there's something to shout over! On the double, mainlands and islands�celebrate!

2 Bright clouds and storm clouds circle 'round him;
Right and justice anchor his rule.

3 Fire blazes out before him,
Flaming high up the craggy mountains.

4 His lightnings light up the world;
Earth, wide-eyed, trembles in fear.

5 The mountains take one look at God
And melt, melt like wax before earth's Lord.

6 The heavens announce that he'll set everything right,
And everyone will see it happen�glorious!
(The Message)

I believe this Psalm is the inspiration for the worship song, "The Lord Reigns."

"A great proportion of men obstinately resist and reject the government of God. Hence the Psalmist was forced to exhibit God in his severer aspect, to teach the wicked that their perverse opposition will not pass unpunished. When God draws near to men in mercy, and they fail to welcome him with proper reverence and respect, this implies impiety of a very aggravated description. The Psalmist intimates that those who should despise God in the person of his only-begotten Son, will feel in due time and certainly the awful weight of his majesty."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Duration of Our Charge."
1 Timothy 6:13-14

13 I charge you in the presence of God, who gives life to all things, and of Christ Jesus, who in his testimony before Pontius Pilate made the good confession, 14 to keep the commandment unstained and free from reproach until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ, (ESV)

"Christianity does not consist of a single profession but a life full of repentance, finally clinging to Him in our deaths." Paul is specifically speaking of the need to "follow the call to godly character" throughout all of life, or until Jesus returns.

The Lord has promised to abide with us through all things, and has guaranteed us that he will carry us through from this world to the next. John MacArthur reminds us that, "because Christ's return is imminent, that ought to be motivation enough for the man of God to remain faithful to his calling until he dies or the Lord returns."

Christianity is a lifelong commitment. There is no "retirement" in God's Kingdom.



Holiness Day by Day

"Good News That Isn't Good Enough?"
Mark 16:15

And he said to them, �Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. (ESV)

When I saw this title, I though, "What the heck?" But he explained. "We've loaded down the gospel of the grace of God in Christ with a lot of 'oughts:" I ought to be more commmitted, more disciplined, more obedient. When we think or teach this way, we're substituting duty and obligation for a loving response to God's grace." Indeed. I totally agree.

Here's a great line. "We preach grace to the non-Christian and duty to the Christian." WOW!! Isn't that the truth?? That is one of the best statements I've read all year! (Side note...this volume of devotions is written by Navigator author Jerry Bridges.) Richard Gilbert has written, "It sometimes seems that there is plenty of grace for you if you are not a Christian, but when you become a Christian then there are all sorts of laws you must obey and you feel like you were better off before you were converted." I LOVE IT!!

"I firmly believe in and seek to practice commitment, discipline, and obedience." But it is important to remember that these are responses to God's grace, not attempts to earn his blessings.



My Father! I praise you for your grace! I thank you that I never have to try to earn your blessings, and I confess that, even so, I still, at times, try to do so. Forgive me for that, Lord! Help us all, as your children, to understand that we don't have to do that! Especially, Lord, impress upon our church "leaders" that we don't have to do works to try to obtain your favor. WE ALREADY HAVE YOUR FAVOR! And that favor will never go away. Hallelujah, my God! I can't praise you enough! Let us never cause people to wish that they have never become Christians by forcing rules and regulations on them (in effect, becoming no better than the Pharisess that Jesus battled his entire time on earth).

I pray that I will be faithful to the end of my life. I believe that I will be, because I believe that you will keep me. I do not believe that it is possible to "fall away." Not if I am truly your child. Nevertheless, I still pray for endurance. I take nothing for granted. Especially in this age that we live in.

May we never fail to give you the reverence and respect that is due you, Almight God.



Grace. It's all about grace. And if we try to tack something else onto that, we do everyone a dis-service, including our heavenly Father!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com