We Are All Created Different!
2009-08-04

Mmm...I'm tired. I got to bed late because we got home late this morning from the neurosurgeon's office. Good news, though...at least for now, no surgery or even "procedure" necessary. He said to get some physical therapy and see if it doesn't get better on its own.


Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

U.S. journalists to be freed. North Korean leader Kim Jong Il has pardoned two jailed American journalists and ordered their release following an unannounced meeting Tuesday with former President Bill Clinton.

Good news...



Psalm for Today: 87

1-3 He founded Zion on the Holy Mountain� and oh, how God loves his home!
Loves it far better than all
the homes of Jacob put together!
God's hometown�oh!
everyone there is talking about you!

4 I name them off, those among whom I'm famous:
Egypt and Babylon,
also Philistia,
even Tyre, along with Cush.
Word's getting around; they point them out:
"This one was born again here!"

5 The word's getting out on Zion:
"Men and women, right and left,
get born again in her!"

6 God registers their names in his book:
"This one, this one, and this one�
born again, right here."

7 Singers and dancers give credit to Zion:
"All my springs are in you!"
(The Message)

"Those who are the bondslaves of Satan and of sin will assuredly never be able to obtain, by any efforts of their own, the right of citizenship in the heavenly Jerusalem. It is the Lord's peculiar work to divide people into their respective ranks, distinguishing one from another, as seems good to him, all men being on a level by nature. God, is true, wrote the names of his children in the Book of Life before the creation of the world; but enrols them in the catalogue of his saints, only when, having regenerated them by the Spirit of adoption, he impresses his own mark upon them."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Gossips and Busybodis"
1 Timothy 5:13

Besides that, they learn to be idlers, going about from house to house, and not only idlers, but also gossips and busybodies, saying what they should not. (ESV)

Uh-oh...Heheh...touchy subject, no?

Apparently, some of the younger widows who had signed on for church support had become idle and stopped following through with their commitment. They had too much time on their hands. So they went from house to house spreading gossip ("Pickalittle, talkalittle, pickalittle, talkalittle, cheep, cheep, cheep, talkalot, pickalittlemore...") and basically being busybodies. And this was probably their version of "visitation." You know, go to someone's house under the auspices of "visititation," and proceeding to talk about everything that you saw at the last house you were at, etc. So, instead of "ministering comfort to needy souls from the wisdom of Scripture, they poked around in matters that were none of their concern."

We don't face the same problems today that Paul faced. However, it still remains true that trouble finds those who have a lot of free time. What's the old saying? "Idle hands are the devil's workshop?"

We need to be busy doing "good works." Not spreading gossip. And sometimes, even when something is true, it is better served by going to the person individually, rather than running off to tell someone in authority. We should always attempt to follow Biblical rules for dealing with conflict.



Holiness Day by Day

"The Peril of Comparing"
2 Corinthians 10:12

12 Not that we dare to classify or compare ourselves with some of those who are commending themselves. But when they measure themselves by one another and compare themselves with one another, they are without understanding. (ESV)

How many of us see other believers around us that appear to be more blessed than we are? *raises hand*

Do we envy them? Do we grumble at God for it?

We must remember that God, in his sovereignty, has the right to bless anyone as he chooses. Paul's words in Romans 9:20-21 say it all...20 But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, �Why have you made me like this?� 21 Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? (ESV)

Here's a news flash. We are NOT all created equal!! The ol' Declaration of Independence is not quite accurate. Each of us is created with different talents and spiritual gifts. I can make music, playing instruments, and singing. But you know what? I couldn't build a house or fix a car if my life depended on it! And I'm ok with that. I'm not jealous of the guy who can build or repair. I'm not jealous of the guy who can preach eloquently. I'm terrified to get up and speak before people. But put a guitar in my hand or a keyboard in front of me, and I'm good to go!

Here's the point. It takes all of us to make up the body of Christ. Paul talks about this in Corinthians, when the church there was getting all out of sorts because everyone wanted the same gifts. That won't work! If every part of your body was a nose, how would you see? Or taste? Plus you would look pretty silly! Well, if everyone were a musician, we would have some pretty awesome worship times, but we would never hear the word preached. We would never be taught. And none of our cars would run... Plus we would fight about who gets to play lead...



Father, I praise you that my name was written in your Book of Life, and that you chose to regenerate me, giving me life and the desire to worship you throughout my life.

I pray that you keep us busy with your work, so that none of us is tempted to engage in gossip or to be busybodies. The body of Christ is too precious to be harmed by this kind of stuff.

I also pray that you always keep us satisfied with the gifts and blessings that you have given us. Let me never look at the person next to me and be jealous of their gifts. If they seem to be more spiritually mature, then let me benefit from that by learning from them. If they have a gift or blessing that I don't have, let me be thankful that you have blessed them. Most importantly, if they are successful where I seem to be unsuccessful, let me praise you for their success, rather than grumble about my failure.

Lord, I lift up my Dad to you today, asking that you give him strength in his legs. I pray that his visit with the neurologist goes well tomorrow, and that he won't have to have any kind of surgery. I'm also thankful that my back trouble looks to be "fixable" with physical therapy.



If you see someone who appears to be more blessed than you, don't be jealous. There will be a temptation. Resist it. Because, it's just a perception, anyway. They really aren't "more" blessed than you. Just blessed in a different way.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com