The Scapegoat
2009-07-31

Whoops. Missed a few days, there. Well, I'll pick right up where I left off.


Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

In prep for weekend working retreat. After receiving his daily briefings and meeting with senior advisers, President Obama will have lunch with business leaders and meet with Secretary of State Hillary Clinton. Friday evening, the President and Vice President Biden will host a meeting for members of the Cabinet at Blair House in preparation for their scheduled weekend working retreat.



Psalm for today: 85:9-13

See how close his salvation is to those who fear him?
Our country is home base for Glory!

Love and Truth meet in the street,
Right Living and Whole Living embrace and kiss!
Truth sprouts green from the ground,
Right Living pours down from the skies!
Oh yes! God gives Goodness and Beauty;
our land responds with Bounty and Blessing.
Right Living strides out before him,
and clears a path for his passage.
(The Message)

"Mercy, truth, peace, and righteousness, will form the grand and ennobling distiction of the kingdom of Christ. The prophet does not proclaim the praises of men, but commends the grace which he had before hoped for, and supplicated from God only; thus teaching us to regard it as an undoubted truth, that all these blessings flow from God. Whence it follows, that nothing can contribute more effectually to the promotion of a happy life, than that these four virtures should flourish and rule supreme."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

If mercy, truth, peace and righteousness are going to be the "distinction of the kingdom of Christ," I know a lot of "God's children" who are going to be in trouble. But I'm still learning those traits myself. I think we could all do with being a good bit less judgmental.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Enrolling Widows"
1 Timothy 5:9-10

9 Let a widow be enrolled if she is not less than sixty years of age, having been the wife of one husband, 10 and having a reputation for good works: if she has brought up children, has shown hospitality, has washed the feet of the saints, has cared for the afflicted, and has devoted herself to every good work. (ESV)

Here, Paul is giving general instructions. It would not be good to assume, I think, that these are "etched in stone." They are generalities. For example, if there was a widow who did have family, but they refused to help her, I don't think Paul would condone not helping her with the Church's resources. At the same time, if there were circumstances where the woman was younger than 60, I have to believe that these would be determined based on the individual case and need.

But also note that Paul expects the widows to be busy, even they are incapable of physical labor. They are not expected to be idle. These women are known for their hospitality and generosity. "...for the first few centuries there were orders of widows who in exchange for support from the church taught new female converts, cared for the sick and orphaned, and fasted and prayed regularly." Hmmm...I wonder if this was the predecessor of the "convent."

Matthew Henry, Bible commentator, said this: "Those who would find mercy when they are in distress must show mercy when they are in prosperity." Those who would be supported by the church must be quick to help and pray for others.



Holiness Day by Day

"The Scapegoat"
Leviticus 16:22

The goat shall bear all their iniquities on itself to a remote area, and he shall let the goat go free in the wilderness. (ESV)

Jesus is never referred to in the Bible as a "scapegoat," but he is, in fact the greatest "scapegoat" in all of history.

On the Day of Atonement (which I believe to be the actual day of Jesus's birth), two goats were selected. One was killed and its blood sprinkled on the mercy seat in the Most Holy Place. This goat's death served as a symbol of Jesus's sacrifice for us on the cross.

The priest would lay hands on the second goat's head and confess all of Israel's iniquites and sins over it. The goat would then be led into the wilderness, symbolically carrying all of Israel's sins away with it. It would be released into the wilderness, never to be seen again, again symbolic of the status of our sins, when once forgiven by God through Jesus.

Both goats are symbolic of Christ, so it may be said that he became our "scapegoat, bearing the guilt of our sins in His propitiatory sacrifice and by that act bearing them away from the presence of His holy Father."



Father, I am so grateful for the sacrifice that Jesus made and for him becoming our "scapegoat." The Old Testament picture of the scapegoat is a beautiful representation of what happens to our sins. I praise you that my sins have been cast into the wilderness, never to be seen or remembered again. I thank you that you say that you will remember our sins no more and have cast them as far as the east is from the west. That is one of the greatest truths of the Bible, Lord.

I pray, Father, for a spirit within me that is more merciful. Give me the spirit to show mercy to people, to not be angry, even when people are mean-spirited towards me or someone I love. I will always rise in defense of my loved ones, but my spirit needs to be more kind, gentle, and merciful. If those are to be the distinctive characteristics of your kingdom, then I'd best be displaying them. I also pray for others in our churches that have difficulty displaying those same traits. Especially when we have leaders who have difficulty controlling their anger.

I pray that I would continue, as I get older, to display mercy and peace. Father, I have noticed in my life that people tend to get meaner as they get older. I pray that this does not happen to me. If your Spirit is whithin me, let it flow out of me throughout my life in peace and mercy, not in hatred and anger.



Give thanks to Jesus today for being your "Scapegoat."

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com