The Peace of God
2009-07-19

Not feeling at all well this morning. The cellulitis has flared up in both of my lower legs. The good news is that the spot on my left thigh is looking a good bit better. I'm not sure what's up with the other spots, what with all the antibiotics I've been taking in the last two days. If it's not better I'll be back at the doctor Monday morning. Good thing I'm on vacation this week.


Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

Crime against U.S. churches. In its first report on violence against Christian organizations, the Church Security Network found 17 violent crimes were reported by churches so far in 2009. Six of them resulted in homicides. In total, 472 incidents of violence, theft and other criminal acts were tracked in the �Crimes Against Christian Organizations in the United States� report. Burglary was the most frequently reported incident by churches. Such crimes, in addition to vandalism, have added up to more than $6.3 million in church property loss in the past six months.

Father, protect our churches from acts of violence done by ignorant, hateful people. But also keep us Christians from being hateful, as well. There's a good number of us that have been guilty of not being very nice people.



Psalm for today: 83:1-4

God, don't shut me out;
don't give me the silent treatment, O God.
Your enemies are out there whooping it up,
the God-haters are living it up;
They're plotting to do your people in,
conspiring to rob you of your precious ones.
"Let's wipe this nation from the face of the earth,"
they say; "scratch Israel's name off the books."
(The Message)

"Let us live at peace with all men, as much as in us lies, and let us endeavor to practise uprightness in our whole deportment, that we may be able confidently to appeal to God, that when we suffer at the hands of men, we suffer wrongfully."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

Interesting how this kind of fits in with the prayer request I picked above...



Tabletalk Magazine

"Confident in the Truth"
2 Thessalonians 2:15

So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the traditions that you were taught by us, either by our spoken word or by our letter. (ESV)

One of the architectural changes that came about as a result of the Reformation was the movement of the pulpit. Before the Reformation, the altar was front and center on the raised platform, because the celebration of the Eucharist was the central part of the service. The Reformers moved the pulpit to the center, and many times elevated it "to symbolize the fact that God's people sit under the authority of His Word."

"It is the power and authority of Scripture that the preacher is to stand firmly upon as he proclaims the gospel from the pulpit. He is not afraid to be certain of those things about which the Word of God is clear, a radical position in a post-modern age that loves uncertainty. The confidence and certainty with which the pastor sets forth the teaching of Scripture is not based in an arrogant trust in his own abilities but in the knowledge that the Bible is the very truth of the Lord." Long quote, but I couldn't have paraphrased it any better.

In the time of the old covenant, the greatest threat to Israel was the false prophet who told the people just what they wanted to hear. The same holds true for us today. "...faithful preachers do not tickle the ears of their flock." They don't have a personal agenda, nor do they make entertainment their goal. The preach the truth, no matter how unpopular.



Holiness Day by Day

"Why We Worry"
Matthew 6:25

�Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? (ESV)

I can answer that before I read a word of this article. We worry because we don't trust God! But let's see what he has to say...

"Why do we worry? Because we don't believe." (See?) "We're not really convinced the same Jesus who can keep a sparrow in the air knows where our lost luggage is, or how we'll pay that car repair bill. Or [and this is where I fall short a lot] if we believe He can deliver us through our difficulties, we doubt if He will."

The great antidote to worry is found in the very famous verses of Philippians 4:6-7. 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (ESV) Nothing is too big or too small for God to handle. We should be coming to God with thankfulness. Thankfulness for past faithfulness in delivering us. Thankfulness that he is control of all of the circumstances in our lives. Thankfulness that nothing can touch us that he doesn't allow.

Notice one thing, though. The promised result in the Philippians passage is not deliverance! It is peace. The peace of God. One reason that we don't experience God's peace is that we are dead set against accepting anything other than deliverance. Yet his peace is what will guard our minds against anxiety.



Father, I pray that I will, first of all, be at peace with all men, as much as his possible from my perspective. If I ever suffer, let it not be said that it is my fault I'm suffering. Let our churches also be at peace, as much as is possible, with men.

I pray that the authority of Scripture will be at the center of our churches. Let our preachers preach the Word confidently and faithfully. Stop those who are merely tickling the ears of their flock. People may leave the church. But that's ok, because the goal of "church" is not to get more people in the door. The goal of church is to glorify YOU. And we do not glorify you by attracting people with "untruth."

Finally, Lord, help my unbelief. Heal my worrisome spirit. I did feel a calmness come over me as I read the Scriptures and devotion regarding worry. I do frequently suffer from doubt that you will heal or deliver me or my family/friends. I do not believe I have ever doubted that you can. Help to achieve the peace that passes all understanding. Help me to "be anxious for nothing!" I give you thanks, Father, for your faithfulness in my life. Even though I feel physically weak right now, I still can feel your peace washing over me. Thank you.



Receive his peace. It truly is incomprehensible. But it will guard your hearts and minds. Scripture is true.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com