What A Wonderful Love!
2009-07-13

Jumping right in...

Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

Attacks on Iraq churches. At least four civilians were killed and 18 others injured in one of several coordinated attacks Sunday on Iraq's minority Christian community.



Psalm for today: 81:13-16

"Oh, dear people, will you listen to me now?
Israel, will you follow my map?
I'll make short work of your enemies,
give your foes the back of my hand.
I'll send the God-haters cringing like dogs,
never to be heard from again.
You'll feast on my fresh-baked bread
spread with butter and rock-pure honey."
(The Message)

"God, in coming down to us by his word, and addressing his invitations to all men without exception, disappoints nobody. All who sincerely come to him are received, and find from actual experience that they were not called in vain. At the same time, we are to trace the fountain of the secret electing purpose of God this difference, that the word enters into the heart of some, while others only hear the sound of it."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Pastor's Progress"
1 Timothy 4:14-15

14 Do not neglect the gift you have, which was given you by prophecy when the council of elders laid their hands on you. 15 Practice these things, immerse yourself in them, so that all may see your progress. (ESV)

Paul tells Timothy not to neglect his gift. We surmise that he is referring to the gifts mentioned in 1 Corinthians 12, of which every Christian has at least one.

On the other hand, I'm not sure about that, because the gift of which Paul speaks was "given...when the council of elders laid their hands on" him. Our spiritual gifts are not given to us in that way. However, Timothy's gift of ministry that he is exercising in Ephesus might have been given in that way. So I'm not sure I agree with the article on this point.

Either way, it is important that people see "progress" in the life of this young minister, especially when this verse is taken in context with the verse from a couple days ago, that dealt with Timothy's youth.

Matthew Henry writes that "the gifts of God will wither if they are neglected." All Christians have a responsibility to use their gifts, but those of us who are in "Ministry" have a deeper duty.



Holiness Day by Day

"Faith and Love"
Galatians 5:6

For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision counts for anything, but only faith working through love.

The link between faith and love is inseparable. It is impossible to please God without either one.

Feeding on the gospel nourishes our faith, which causes love to arise in our hearts.

John Owen, a great Puritan theologian, wrote, "The greatest sorrow and burden you can lay on the Father, the greatest unkindness you can do to him, is not to believe that he loves you." He places this even higher than other sins, on which he is most hard. He is more concerned that we keep the gospel before us, because that is where the love of God is most revealed.

"To the degree that we live with an abiding sense of His love for us in Christ, to that degree will we love God with all our heart and soul and mind. So let us not put the gospel 'on the shelf' of our lives. Let us review it daily, and in the joy that it brings, pursue these disciplines."



Father, there is much to pray about today. I pray that my spirit will always be such that your voice goes beyond my ears. You have put within me a desire to love you and to believe in you. Please don't ever take that away. I pray that you would "make short work of my enemies," as you said in that Psalm, but I also understand that the condition is that I listen to you with my heart.

I pray that I would be faithful in exercising the gifts that you have given me, be they spiritual or physical or whatever. You have blessed me with talent that I have committed to you. However, I have been lax in exercising that talent. Sure, I use it on Sunday mornings, but I should be practicing to improve constantly. People should, as Paul exhorted Timothy, be able to see "progress" in me. Give me the discipline and motivation to get moving on this.

Finally, Father, I pray that you would immerse me in the gospel for a while. Let me stay in that great story of your love for us for a length of time that would create an overflow of love for you coming from my heart.



I admit that I have not considered reading daily doses of just the gospel. But I like the sound of that, and agree with the writer of that piece about the effects that it can have on our hearts. So I'm off to re-discover this great Love!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com