The Pastor's Job
2009-07-12

Another Sunday morning. Hoping for a good time of worship this morning at church.


Here's a prayer request for today from the PPT site.

State of the U.S. economy. Retailers Thursday reported weak same-store sales, with mall-based clothing stores hurting most in June compared with last year. Credit card delinquencies are also at an all-time high due to rising unemployment and a shrinking economy, according to the American Bankers Association. Unemployment remains at 9.5 percent, the highest rate in over 25 years.

Folks, this is NOT getting better...no matter what "they" say.



Psalm for today: 81:11-12

"But my people didn't listen,
Israel paid no attention;
So I let go of the reins and told them, 'Run!
Do it your own way!'
(The Message)

"It is assuredly the most dreadful kind of punishment which can be afflicted upon us, and an evidence of the utter hopelessness of our condition, when God, holding his peace, and conniving at our perverseness, applies no remedy for bringing us to repentance and amendment. So long as he administers reproof to us, alarms us with the dread of judgment, and summons us before his tribunal, he, at the same time, calls up on us to repent. But when he sees that it is altogether lost labour to reason any longer with us, and that his admonitions have no effect, he holds his peace, and by this teaches us that he has ceased to make our salvation the object of his care. Nothing, therefore, is more to be dreaded, than for men to be so set free from the Divine guidance, as recklessly to follow their own counsels, and to be dragged by Satan wherever he pleases."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

I have always felt that the most terrifying words in the Bible are found in Romans 1, "...and God gave them over..." And here they are in the Psalms, too.



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Pastor's Priorities"
1 Timothy 4:13

Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching. (ESV)

"In our day, there a host of roles Christians expect their pastors to fill. Many people think the pastor should be an entertainer. Others ask their pastor to be the pragmatist extraordinaire who only delivers "relevant" messages. Some want a life coach to help them attain their best life now, while others seek the corporate magnate who can quickly increase the church's membership and campus size. There are even those who want their pastor to ignore biblical teaching the culture finds objectionable so that he can join whatever cause is currently in vogue."

That was very well said!!

Paul gives quite a different description here. Timothy's role as pastor was to be "the public reading of Scripture," "exhortation," and "teaching." Feeding the Lord's people. The pastor is to make sure the "flock" is hearing the Word rightly and applying it practically.



Holiness Day by Day

"Our Holy God"
Exodus 15:11

Who is like you, O Lord, among the gods?
Who is like you, majestic in holiness,
awesome in glorious deeds, doing wonders?
(ESV)

"God has called every Christian to a holy life. There are no exceptions to this call. This call to a holy life is based on the fact that God Himself is holy. Holiness is nothing less than conformity to the character of God."

Holiness describes the majest of God and the purity and moral perfection of his nature. It is one of his attributes; an essential part of his nature.

God's holiness should be a comfort and assurance to us. Since he is absolutely holy, we can be sure that his actions toward us will always be just and perfect. It is impossible that God should ever be unjust. (The author uses the word "unfair," but I do not equate justice and fairness. Sometimes justice is unfair.)

We must accept God's holiness by faith, even when circumstances tempt us to think otherwise. In fact, Stephen Charnock said, "...he that saith God is not holy speaks much worse than he that saith there is no God at all."



Father, the thought that you would ever give up on me and let me go my own way terrifies me greatly. I pray that this never happens, and I trust your promises that you will never forsake me. Keep me near you, and always correct me when I stray off the path.

I pray that we would never expect the wrong things from our pastor. May the group of Christians that meets at our place always expect only Biblical truth from our pastor and nothing else. Let us not grow hungry for pop psychology as many "churches" have done. Our pastor's job is to preach the truth of the Bible to us, exhort us and teach us. May we expect nothing more, and may we also expect nothing less.

Finally, Father, I revel in your holiness. I struggle with my ability to conform to your standard of holiness, yet it continues to be my desire. Forgive me when I sin, for sin is the absence of a holy attitude. Let me always be seeking to be holy as you are holy. You have called me to holiness. Let me keep that in front of me at all times, and make me immediately repentant when I fail.

Father, I pray for our worship time this morning. I pray that it will be pleasing to you. May our songs of worship reach your ears as a pleasant sound. May our prayers make their way to you, and I ask that you hear them. May our pastor preach the truth and give us ears to hear it.



Worship his holiness this morning. Know that all that God does in his name is just and pure. He can do no less.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com