Open Your Mouth!
2009-07-11

Lessee...Tuesday was the last day I was here. No excuses...other than needing sleep and rest for my back. But I seriously need God to draw me back into a closer relationship with him. It seems that life has gotten in the way. We should never let that happen.


Here's a prayer request for today from the PPT site.

From Africa to home. President Obama is in Accra, Ghana to outline his vision for Africa. The President is due to address parliament on Saturday before visiting Cape Coast Castle, a fort used in the transatlantic slave trade. He and the First Family return to Washington, D.C. later this weekend.



Psalm for today: 81:10

I am the Lord your God,
who brought you up out of the land of Egypt.
Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.
(ESV)

"...the reason why God's blessings drop upon us in a sparing and slender manner is, because our mouth is too narrow; and the reason why others are empty and famished is, because they keep their mouth completely shut. The majority of mankind, either from disgust, or pride, or madness, refuse all the blessings which are offered them from heaven."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

I think this is tragic. But I believe it to be true. How many more blessings would we receive if we would but open our mouths?



Tabletalk Magazine

"Timothy's High Calling"
1 Timothy 4:11-12

11 Command and teach these things. 12 Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. (ESV)

Either there were some in Ephesus who don't take Timothy seriously because of his age, or Timothy was afraid that his age would make his ministry ineffective. Either way, Paul encourages him to not allow this to be a factor in his ministry. Apparently, anyone under forty was considered to be "youthful," and, therefore, not trustworthy.

This is a legitimate concern, even today. Many young pastors face a daunting task of trying to lead members and even other church leaders who are much older than they. Paul, basically, just says don't allow them to despise you for your youth. Easier said than done, right?



Holiness Day by Day

"Wrath Revealed"
Romans 1:18

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. (ESV)

There are many who believe (or at least want to) that the wrath of God is only an "Old Testament thing" and disappeared when Jesus came along. They believe that God's love and mercy have become the only expressions of his attitudes toward his creation.

Jesus clearly refuted this idea, however, in John 3:36, when he said, "Whoever does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God remains on him." (ESV)

Paul speaks of God's wrath in Romans and Colossians, and Revelation is pretty much a total warning of the coming wrath of God.

God's wrath is a grim reality. Yet, how should we understand it? "God's wrath arises from His intense, settled hatred of all sin and is the tangible expression of His inflexible determination to punish it. We might say God's wrath is His justice in action, rendering to everyone his just due, which, because of our sin, is always judgment."

Why is God so angry at sin? "Because our sin, regardless of how small or insignificant it may seem to us, is essentially an assault on His infinite majesty and sovereign authority."

"All sin is rebellion against God's authority, a despising of His Law, and a defiance of His commands."



Father, I pray this morning that you would help me to "open my mouth," that I might receive your blessings. Not that I am overly greedy for your blessings. I am more than grateful for what you have given me over the years. But I don't want to stand in the way of your blessings by not being available or even asking for them. I don't ever want to think that I can get along without your help. That is one major flaw of modern man. He things he doesn't need you. But he doesn't realize how much you help him without him even being aware of it!

I also pray, Lord, that I never be one who despises youth. Let me never look down on a minister because he is younger than me. Let me never fall into the trap that I hated so much when I was younger, and think that just because someone is young, they don't know anything. I've known people who believed that, and it has always disgusted me. None of us know as much as we think we do.

Finally, Lord, let me look at sin as you do. Especially...ESPECIALLY my own! I don't pretend to ever be qualified as a judge of other people an their sin. Nevertheless, sin is sin, and we should all be aware of it. Let me take it seriously, Father. Let me not dabble in things that I should leave alone. Let me not set my foot in places it need not be. Keep me on the true path. Forgive me for taking a somewhat light-hearted view of sin in my life when I do.



Even though part of today's devotion might seem like a bit of a downer, we need to remember that, as children of God, brothers and sisters of Jesus, we hold a bit of a different position when it comes to sin. This does not excuse us, but God's attitude towards us is totally different than that towards sinners who completely reject the awesome sacrifice that Jesus made on our behalf. Rejoice in that!

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com