A Pillar and A Buttress
2009-06-29

Egad! I'm hooked on this stupid typing game on Facebook! Some of my friends are smokin'! Hahaha. My daughter is from another planet! Hee.


Here's a prayer request for today from the PPT site.

Coup in Honduras. President Obama has asked for "all political and social actors in Honduras to respect democratic norms, the rule of law and the tenets of the Inter-American Democratic Charter" after a coup there over the weekend, the first military overthrow of a Central American government in 16 years.

This is unsettling. We have some church friends who are missionaries in the Honduras. Fortunately, they are over here right now.

Father, protect the people of the Honduras from violence, especially of the military/terroristic type.



Psalm for today: 79:6-9

If you're going to be angry, be angry
with the pagans who care nothing about you,
or your rival kingdoms who ignore you.
They're the ones who ruined Jacob,
who wrecked and looted the place where he lived.

8-10 Don't blame us for the sins of our parents.
Hurry up and help us; we're at the end of our rope.
You're famous for helping; God, give us a break.
Your reputation is on the line.
Pull us out of this mess, forgive us our sins�
do what you're famous for doing!
Don't let the heathen get by with their sneers:
"Where's your God? Is he out to lunch?"
Go public and show the godless world
that they can't kill your servants and get by with it.
(The Message)(The verse divisions aren't exact, so there might be an extra verse or two in there.)

"...it is intimated that it is impossible for any to call upon God without a previous knowledge of him."

"The amount is, that unless we are directed by the knowledge of God, it is impossible for us sincerely to profess the true religion. At that time the Gentiles everywhere boasted that they served God; but, being destitute of his word, and as the fabricated to themselves gods of their own corrupt imaginations, all their religious services were detestable; even as in our own day, the human invented religious observances of the blind and deluded votaries of the Man of Sin, who have no right knowledge of the God whom they profess to worship, and who inquire not at his mouth what he approves, are certainly rejected by him, because they set up idols in his place."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Upholding the Truth"
1 Timothy 3:14-15

14 I hope to come to you soon, but I am writing these things to you so that, 15 if I delay, you may know how one ought to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, a pillar and buttress of the truth. (ESV)

Here we learn that Paul has sent this letter to Timothy because he feared that he might be delayed. He felt his instruction to be too urgent to risk any delay.

Some translations render the word "buttress" as "foundation." This is probably unlikely, as the church could never be seen as the "foundation" of the truth. Jesus Christ is the cornerstone and foundation of all truth. The church, however, supports and upholds the truth, just as a "pillar" or a "buttress" would do. "As the church faithfully obeys Scripture it lives out the truth and supports its claim that the gospel brings real change." The key is that party about "faithfully obeys Scripture." We must be certain that our individual gatherings are doing this.



Holiness Day by Day

"Lost Years Restored"
Zecharaiah 9:17

For how great is his goodness, and how great his beauty!
Grain shall make the young men flourish,
and new wine the young women.
(ESV)

After the prophet Joel prophesied God's judgment on Judah through a plague of locusts that would devour everything, he then countered it with the following promise from God: "I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten, the hopper, the destroyer, and the cutter, my great army, which I sent among you" (Joel 2:25).

"Consider the amazing generosity of God. He did not limit His promise merely to restoring the land to its former productivity. He said He'll repay them for the years the locusts have eaten, years they themselves forfeited to the judgment of God." He would have been plenty generous just to restore the land to its former state, but he went beyond that.

Have you ever lamented "lost years?" I know I have. Years when I was serving sin instead of God, or years that I wasted, not being an effective, productive Christian. In truth, God may not always restore our lost years to us, but we do know that it is God's nature to be gracious. Many people take the promises of Joel and try to apply them to themselves personally. This is never an accurate application of Scripture. It is just not wise to take a prophesy that was given to a nation (and has already been fulfilled, mind you) and try to apply it to me! Me, me, me. Well, it's not about me, is it? It is about God, and it is about God's Church, which I am part of.

Nevertheless, it would not be wrong to ask God for this type of restoration, and even cite what he did for Judah and Israel as an example. God does not withhold grace because of "demerits." He is gracious. That's all we need to know.



Father, I thank you that you have given me both the knowledge and the desire to call out to you. I pray that I never take this knowledge and desire for granted. I still pray from yesterday's readings that I would not live as though you are irrelevant in my life. Let me be more mindful of your presence in my life at all times. I know that I failed in this endeavor at work last night, getting distracted by a crisis. My reaction to the crisis was not very godly. Forgive me for that, Father.

I pray for the part of your church that meets at South Haltom Community Church. I thank you for Ryan's message yesterday on community, and how the church is supposed to work. I pray that, through the leadership of our pastor and other staff, that this little body of believers would be a "pillar" and a "buttress" of your truth. I pray that we would faithfully obey the Scriptures in both our private lives and the life of the church. I pray that we would gradually move towards a more "organic" setting for worship times.

Lastly, Father, I pray for anyone who feels that they have lost years to sin or laziness in their Christian walk. I certainly know how that feels. You have the power to restore lost years. I know you can't make us younger, that's silly. But you can give us renewed spiritual energy, and give us a new, fresh desire to serve you, just as though we had not lived those years and wasted them. I pray that you would do that for all of us. I have many regrets through my life, but I cannot waste time looking back. As Jesus said, any one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is not fit for the kingdom. So, I won't do that. I want to be fit, so I will look ahead. You have forgiven me for everything that is behind me. Give me the grace to forgive myself and move on.



We do spend too much time looking back. God chooses not to remember those things. He has "forgotten" them. He has buried them in the deepest part of the ocean. He has cast them as far as the east is from the west. Hallelujah. Revel in that today.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com