Who Needs Who?
2009-06-19

...and welcome to the weekend! Huzzah! I got behind this week, but I took advantage of some time at work last night to get caught up on the reading. I just didn't post anything from it.


Here's a prayer request from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

"United We Serve." President Obama is calling on all Americans to participate in community service activities this summer to "lay a foundation for economic growth in America." Titled "United We Serve," President Obama says the program is a supplement to the federal government�s economic recovery efforts.

Interesting. Good idea, too.



Psalm for today: 73:25-28

25-28 You're all I want in heaven!
You're all I want on earth!

When my skin sags and my bones get brittle,
God is rock-firm and faithful.
Look! Those who left you are falling apart!
Deserters, they'll never be heard from again.
But I'm in the very presence of God�
oh, how refreshing it is!
I've made Lord God my home.
God, I'm telling the world what you do!
(The Message)

"[The psalmist] declares that he desires nothing, either in heaven or on earth, except God alone, and that without God, all other objects which usually draw the hearts of men towards them were unattractive to him."

"I know that of yourself, apart from every other object, you are sufficient, yes, more than sufficient for me, and therefore I do not let myself be carried away after a variety of desires, but rest in and am fully contented with you."

Very interesting commentary on this Psalm from the translator of The Message, Eugene Peterson.

Our culture has failed precisely because it is a secular culture. A secular culture is a culture reduced to a thing or a function. Typically, at least at first, people are delighted to find themselves living in such a culture. It's wonderful to have all these things coming our way without having to worry about any purpose for them beyond our own pleasure. And it's wonderful to have this incredible freedom to do so much without bothering about whether or not what we do has any meaning. But after a few years of this, our delight diminishes, and we find ourselves lonely with all the things and bored with all the freedom.

Our first response is to get more and do more, because those were the very things that made us happy to begin with. but after a few years of this, we find that we aren't happier. And we're left scratching our heads. Even as Christians, we're left scratching our heads.

Why? Well, it isn't because the Christian Bible has pages missing. It's because we haven't seen all there is on the pages we already have. It isn't another book we need but better attention to the Book we already have. It isn't more knowledge we need but better vision to see what has already been revealed.

That's when our desires will change. That's when we will experience true and lasting delight. And that's when we'll be able to pray with the psalmist, "You're all I want in heaven! You're all I want on earth!" (verse 25)




Tabletalk Magazine

"A Deacon's Reward"
1 Timothy 3:13

For those who serve well as deacons gain a good standing for themselves and also great confidence in the faith that is in Christ Jesus. (ESV)

As a society, we tend to exalt those in leadership positions (or blame them, as always seems to be the case for the Presidents) because they are the ones we see "up front." In the church, we tend to see the ones that are in front as the most important (this also speaks to the wrongness of the entire "clergy/laity" split that is so terribly unbiblical). But Paul insists that the church cannot function without the "contribution of every member's gifts and service." If the church is funtioning properly, some of these people are the deacons, who do their ministry behind the scenes, ministering mercy to widows, orphans, and others in need. We don't often know of the many needs in our church, but the deacons are there, "the unsung heroes of the congregation who work to give a cup of cold water to our thirsty brothers and sisters in Christ."

Paul gives a promise of "good standing" to those who minister faithfully as deacons. "Deacons who serve well will be greatly esteemed in God's kingdom, not ignored."



Holiness Day by Day

"The Generous Landowner"
Matthew 20:15

Am I not allowed to do what I choose with what belongs to me? Or do you begrudge my generosity? (ESV)

Sadly, if that question were asked in our country today, the answer would be a resounding "NO!"

"God's reward is out of all proportion to our service and sacrfice. In the kingdom of heaven, God's reward system is based not on merit but on grace, and grace always gives far more than we have 'earned.'"

In the parable from which our verse is taken, the landowner hired a new group of people each hour of the day. But he paid them all a day's wages, no matter how long they had worked. It was the ones who worked longest who grumbled. But the landowner "chose to pay them according to their need, not according to their work. He paid according to grace, not debt."

Ponder also, that, with one hour left in the day, he still hired another group. He didn't need their services. "He hired them, not because of his need, but their need." This is a great representation of God.

"God calls us to serve Him, not because He needs us, but because we need Him."



Father, I thank you that you see my need and are so gracious to meet it. I give you great praise because you have given me more than I could ever deserve; more than I could ever earn in a million lifetimes. I am humbly gratefuly that you operate on a grace system, rather than a merit system. Help me to not be like the earliest group, grumbling because someone else got as much or more grace than me. We all get what we need.

I pray that I can make it to place where the Psalmist gets, where he declares that he desires nothing on earth besides you. That is my desire. Change my desires, Lord. Take my delight away from the stuff of this secular culture.



To me, the key statement in today's readings is this: "God calls us to serve Him, not because He needs us, but because we need Him."

We all need him. He needs none of us. But he desires to be with us and us with him. What a profound mystery.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com