Humble Yourself
2009-06-11

What happened yesterday? I'll tell you.

I slept too late, that's what. Oh, well.

I'm still feeling much more positive after some of the things that God has been showing me this week. One thing that came to mind yesterday to me while I was at work was that everyone deserves to be treated with dignity. I can be such a jerk sometimes to people that come to my dispatch window, just because I'm in a bad mood. Generally, they have done nothing to deserve that kind of treatment, other than disturb what I was doing. So I'm making a committment to the Lord to do better at that. On a basic level, what a better witness we would be for Christ if we would simply treat everyone we meet with kindness.



Here's a prayer for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

President Obama�s Town Hall in Green Bay. The President will host a town hall style meeting June 11 at Green Bay Southwest High School taking questions from students and citizens at large in order to promote his efforts to reform health care in America. His push to reform healthcare comes in the midst of a huge effort to create and save jobs with the spending authorized by the economic stimulus bill - of the $787 billion authorized in February, the White House says $135 billion has been "obligated'' for specific projects, but the "spend-out is closer to $44 billion.''

No doubt this meeting has already passed, however the topics involved need our prayers. Our healthcare system is in serious need of revamping, and I believe our politicians are heading down a disastrous path. They need wisdom from God on how to fix this, because it is badly broken.



Psalm for Today: 69:1-5

1 God, God, save me! I'm in over my head,

2 Quicksand under me, swamp water over me;
I'm going down for the third time.

3 I'm hoarse from calling for help,
Bleary-eyed from searching the sky for God.

4 I've got more enemies than hairs on my head;
Sneaks and liars are out to knife me in the back.
What I never stole
Must I now give back?

5 God, you know every sin I've committed;
My life's a wide-open book before you.
(The Message)

"...even in the most profound depths of adversity faith may hold us up, and, what is more, may elevate us to God; there being, as Paul testifies (Rom. 8:39), no height nor depth which can separate us from the infinite love of him who swallows up all depths, yes, even hell itself."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms

I love the truth of verse 5. My life is an open book before God. There is actually some comfort to me in that truth. See, I don't have to worry about hiding anything from God, because he knows it all. I can't hide from God.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Caring for God's Church"
1 Timothy 3:4-5

4 He must manage his own household well, with all dignity keeping his children submissive, 5 for if someone does not know how to manage his own household, how will he care for God's church? (ESV)

Eli from the Old Testament history comes out as the prime example of one who did not fit the example given in these verses. His sons were described as "worthless" men who "did not know the Lord." It is noted that Eli did admonish his sons, but it must not have been very vigorous, because God charged Eli with exalting his sons over Him. "Eli's disordered, undisciplined, sinful family revealed that his heart was not wholly devoted to the Lord. Being unfit for leadership, Eli was finally removed from his position. This can all be found in 1 Samuel 2.

It is important to note that "keeping his children submissive" does not allow for harshness or legalism "that requires perfection or that the children will be something other than what they are, both of which will provoke the children to anger."

Basically, the truth is simple. If a man cannot lead his own family, how can he lead the Church?



Holiness Day by Day

"Humility Before God"
Philippians 2:8

8 And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. (ESV)

Humility toward God begins with a high view of God's person. If you remember, a couple days ago, there was a Psalm that dealt with having a high enough view of God to help us deal with our struggles.

Scripture shows us the reactions of men who go to see God in his glory. "Moses bowed to the ground and worshipped; Isaiah cried 'Woe is me!'; Ezekiel fell face down; John fell at His feet as though dead. Even the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders in heaven of Revelation fell down before the throne of the glorified Lamb."

"Humility in every area of life, in every relationship with other people, begins with a right concept of God as the One who is infinite and eternal in His majesty and holiness." What this means is that, even when people mistreat us, we should humbly receive this as coming from an "infinitely wise and loving heavenly Father."

This "deep and profound humility" before God must come before we can experience any kind of humility in our relationships. I like this next sentence a lot. "When we are conscious of our (sinful) creature relationship to an infinitely majestic and holy God, we will not wish to selfishly compare ourselves with others." Wow. That's good. This will help us avoid the temptations of pride and competition.

So going back to what I said at the very beginning about treating others with dignity...If I'm struggling with treating others with humility, it means I am not being humble before God. Plain and simple. I love how God takes me full circle sometimes.



Father, I hear and receive the word you are giving me today. I certainly have a high view of you; this is what drives my service as a worship leader. However, my level of humility obviously leaves much to be desired. Humble me, God. I know this is a very dangerous request which could yield some extremely disturbing results. Nevertheless, I see the need. I need to be humbled before you so that I may be more humble before others.


Humble yourself before God so that you may be humble in your relationships. Humility is painful, yes. But the end result is peace. And don't we all want that? I know I do.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com