A Terrible Beauty...
2009-06-09

I was actually successful at having a better outlook at work last night, based on God's "revelation" to me during yesterday's journal time. And I had a really great talk with Phillipp, that resulted in a much more content and uplifted feeling. If I'm not making sense, this is about going into every day as a gift from God, because each day is a "day that the Lord has made," even though that's kind of taking that verse out of context. My goal is to get to where every day is cherished equally, so that I don't miss anything that God is trying to show me because I'm so busy looking for Saturday.


Here's a prayer for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

The President's Tax Plan. President Obama will speak to members of Congress in the East Room of the White House this afternoon laying out his tax plan.

Laura Ling and Euna Lee, American reporters being held by North Korea. Their families are asking for clemency; the situation is exacerbated by tense relations between the US and North Korea.



Psalm for Today: 68:28-35

Parade your power, O God,
the power, O God, that made us what we are.
Your temple, High God, is Jerusalem;
kings bring gifts to you.
Rebuke that old crocodile, Egypt,
with her herd of wild bulls and calves,
Rapacious in her lust for silver,
crushing peoples, spoiling for a fight.
Let Egyptian traders bring blue cloth
and Cush come running to God, her hands outstretched.

32-34 Sing, O kings of the earth!
Sing praises to the Lord!
There he is: Sky-Rider,
striding the ancient skies.
Listen�he's calling in thunder,
rumbling, rolling thunder.
Call out "Bravo!" to God,
the High God of Israel.
His splendor and strength
rise huge as thunderheads.

35 A terrible beauty, O God,
streams from your sanctuary.
It's Israel's strong God! He gives
power and might to his people!
O you, his people�bless God!
(The Message)

"David reminds the people once more that they had not triumphed by their own strength, but by the power communicated from above.

"Another lesson which the passage teaches us is, that more is required than that God should visit us at first with his preventing grace; that we stand constantly in need of his assistance throughout our whole lives. It is impossible that we could stand one moment in the contest with such enemies as Satan, sin, and the world, did we not receive from God the grace which secures our perseverance."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms

I love the last verse of this Psalm that says, "A terrible beauty, O God, streams from your sanctuary..."



Tabletalk Magazine

"An Example to Be Followed"
1 Timothy 3:2-3

2 Therefore an overseer must be above reproach, the husband of one wife, sober-minded, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, 3 not a drunkard, not violent but gentle, not quarrelsome, not a lover of money. (ESV)

The job of overseer, or elder, is, as stated yesterday, a "noble task," therefore, only select men can be chosen for it.

It's notable that we are not given a list of duties here, but a list of visible qualities. It is reasonable to believe that God's call on a man's life is made evident by the quality of life he lives (moral quality, that is, not, of course, financial).

At the top of the list is "above reproach." Not perfect, because no one is, but "a man of repentance, guilty of no heinous evil since his conversion." Ok. Stop right there. I don't agree with that statement. Because that statement ignores the beauty of grace and forgiveness. If we say that someone who commited grievous sins after their conversion, then later repented cannot ever be an elder, then we negate the grace of God. I agree with the sentiment of John MacArthur that says, "no overt, flagrant sin can mar the life of a person who must be an example for his people to follow," however, I take that to be currently. I don't believe that a man is disqualified for sins that were committed at an earlier point in his life.

Then there's the "husband of one wife" requirement. Now, I have had peopel argue that this phrase proves that the elders must be men, because it says "husband." My response to that was, "Then they must be married, too, because it says 'husband.'" Naturally, they didn't like that argument. Whereas I do agree that it is best and biblical if elders are men, yanking that piece of a verse out of context as a prooftext does no one any good. At any rate, it does not mean that the man must be married. It means that he should only have one wife. Remember, this was a culture where polygamy was still acceptable. "It also does not prohibit divorced men from holding the office--if their divorce had biblical warrant. Otherwise, we make divorce a sin even in cases where God permits it."

The elder must also be "able to teach." This doesn't mean he has to be Charles Spurgeon or Augustine. He just needs to be able to live and preach the word of God "faithfully and clearly."



Holiness Day by Day

"Practical Christian Living"
Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven. (ESV)

"This little light of mine...I'm gonna let it shine..."

The world in which we live today is going to be more and more eager to find inconsistencies in our Christian lives so it can ridicule not just us, but God and his Word, too. Paul gave some reasons for the importance of our Christian testimony in Titus. In 2:5, "That the word of God may not be reviled." In 2:8, "So that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us." And in 2:10, "So that in everything they may adorn the doctrine of God our Savior."

"As believers we should seek to be exemplary in every aspect of our lives, doing our best for the sake of Christ and His gospel. Our work, play, driving, and shopping should all be done with a view that unbelievers will be attracted to the gospel that they see at work in our lives."



Father, I praise you for your "terrible beauty" that streams from your sanctuary. May I never take it lightly. May we always understand that you are powerful and that you will, ultimately, protect and honor your Name.

Lord, I do not desire the position of "elder." Never have. Nevertheless, I ask that you help me be "above reproach" as the elder must be. There is no reason that I should not have the same qualifications in my life. But the reason for my life being like that would be the reasons lined out in the last reading. Lord, make my life a light that shines forth your glory. Let people be drawn to you through me. I confess that my light has been very dim, recently. I ask you to fuel me up with your Holy Spirit. I got a good start last night at work with the thoughts that you gave me yesterday. Keep that going in my heart, Father. I must live like I cherish each day in your presence. Let me practice your presence in my life every minute of every day.



God's been giving me some good stuff this week. I need to be sure and act on it to keep it coming. That's a very important concept. If God shows you something, it's important to act on it. Otherwise, you'll forget it. I know this from experience.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com