...Was Blind, But Now I See
2009-06-07

A blessed Sunday morning to you!

My thighs are killing me from that workout yesterday. We got the EA Sports Active workout program for the Wii console last week, and tried it for the first time yesterday afternoon. It is an excellent workout. But I am sooooooooo out of shape. (I couldn't put enough "os" at the end of that to indicate just how out of shape I am.) Christi has already done it again this morning. We are doing the "30 day challenge," and it actually adds new routines each day, to keep it from getting too repetitive.



Here's a pray for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

The nation's economy. The jobless rate increased in May to a 26-year high of 9.4 percent, but the economy's net loss of 345,000 jobs was below the 500,000-plus expected and the lowest monthly total since last September.



Psalm for today: 68:1-6

1-4 Up with God! Down with his enemies!
Adversaries, run for the hills!
Gone like a puff of smoke,
like a blob of wax in the fire�
one look at God and the wicked vanish.
When the righteous see God in action
they'll laugh, they'll sing,
they'll laugh and sing for joy.
Sing hymns to God;
all heaven, sing out;
clear the way for the coming of Cloud-Rider.
Enjoy God,
cheer when you see him!

5-6 Father of orphans,
champion of widows,
is God in his holy house.
God makes homes for the homeless,
leads prisoners to freedom,
but leaves rebels to rot in hell.

"David now proceeds to call upon the Lord's people to praise God. And he begins by pointing out the grounds in general which they have for this exercise, because he comprehends the whole world under his power and government, adding, that he condescends to take the poorest and the most wretched of our family under his protection. His infinite power is commended, when it is said that he rides upon the clouds, or the heavens, for this proves that he sits superior over all things. The Holy Spirit may signify by the expression, that we should exclude from our minds everything gross and earthly in the conceptions we form of him; but he would, doubtless, impress us chiefly with an idea of his great power, to produce in us a due reverence, and make us feel how far short all our praises must come of his glory."



Holiness Day by Day

"Amazing For All"
Revelation 22:21

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen.

John Newton was a slave trader before he was converted to Christ and wrote what is probably the most famous hymn in history, "Amazing Grace." "He never tired of contemplating with awed amazement the wonder of a grace that would reach even to him. But the person who grew up in a godly Christian family, who trusted Christ at an early age, and who never indulged in any so-called 'gross' sins should be just as amazed at the grace of God as was John Newton."

I agree with this 100%. I never traded slaves. I've never dealt drugs or killed anyone (relieved, are you?), but I have a few "skeletons in my closet." Nevertheless, I am so amazed at the grace of God that would stoop to consider me! I share that amazement with John Newton.

Here's a principle: "To the extent that you're clinging to any vestiges of self-righteousness or putting any confidence in your own spiritual attainments, to that degree you are not living by the grace of God in your life." This principle is being pounded into our hearts throughout this devotion, and I certainly understand why. It is probably the most difficult principle for us to grasp. We always seem to think we need to have some control over our spiritual destiny, and we really don't! It is all God, and it is all by his grace!! "Grace and good works (that is, works done to earn favor with God) are mutually exclusive." You can't stand with one foot on grace and the other on works.

"If you're trusting to any degree in your own morality or religious attainments, or if you believe God will somehow recognize any of your good works as merit toward your salvation, you need to seriously consider if you're truly a Christian."

That is a very serious statement, but I believe it is worthy of consideration.

"Grace is either absolutely free, or it is not at all." (Abraham Booth, 1734-1806, Baptist pastor in England)



Father, I'm once again in awe of the power of your grace, and that you would extend that grace to me. I am eternally grateful for the gift of your grace. Let me never try to package that grace with any kind of works, thinking that it will gain me any ground or merit with you. I believe that there is nothing I can do to make you love me more, nor is there anything I can do to cause you to love me less. Your love for me is not based on my actions! I praise you for that, because if it were, my status with you would be extremely inconsistent!

The Psalm from above also makes me so aware of something that I had not considered before. All of the praises that could possibly bring to you are not nearly enough. They still fall far short of your glory. This doesn't mean that I will stop praising you! It means I will praise you all the more! You are holy. You are worthy. Only you are worthy of my praise. Only you are holy. Let my gaze never be drawn away from you, my God!



Let the grace of God roll over you like the tide today. Let it wash over you, cleanse you, refresh you. Then let it drive whatever you do for the rest of this week.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com