Merciful and Mighty
2009-05-26

I'm updating in the morning because I'm on vacation for a few days. I have to take Stephanie to an appointment at 7:30, so I need to get moving, here. Well, the appt. is at 8:30...we need to leave by 7:30.


Here's a prayer point for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

Pray for President Obama, his military advisors and members of Congress as they consider how best to work with the nation of Pakistan, as their military battles the Taliban. Secretary of State Clinton has announced the U.S. pledge of more than $100M in humanitarian support. Pray for peace and calm in the region, and for the estimated two million refugees that have resulted from fighting there.



Psalm for Today: 62:1-12a

1-2 God, the one and only� I'll wait as long as he says.
Everything I need comes from him,
so why not?
He's solid rock under my feet,
breathing room for my soul,
An impregnable castle:
I'm set for life.

3-4 How long will you gang up on me?
How long will you run with the bullies?
There's nothing to you, any of you�
rotten floorboards, worm-eaten rafters,
Anthills plotting to bring down mountains,
far gone in make-believe.
You talk a good line,
but every "blessing" breathes a curse.

5-6 God, the one and only�
I'll wait as long as he says.
Everything I hope for comes from him,
so why not?
He's solid rock under my feet,
breathing room for my soul,
An impregnable castle:
I'm set for life.

7-8 My help and glory are in God
�granite-strength and safe-harbor-God�
So trust him absolutely, people;
lay your lives on the line for him.
God is a safe place to be.

9 Man as such is smoke,
woman as such, a mirage.
Put them together, they're nothing;
two times nothing is nothing.

10 And a windfall, if it comes�
don't make too much of it.

11 God said this once and for all;
how many times
Have I heard it repeated?
"Strength comes
Straight from God."

12 Love to you, Lord God! (The Message)

"God tries his children with afflictions, but here they are taught by David to abide them with constancy and courage. We are bound to put honour upon his name by remembering, in our greatest extremities, that to him belong the issues of death."

"It is of great consequence that we be established in the belief of God's Word, and we are here directed to the unerring certaintywhich belongs to it. God acts consistently with himself, and can never swerve from what he has said. Every word which may have issued forth from God is to be received with implicit authority.

"It is essentially necessary, if we would fortify our minds against temptation, to have suitably exalted views of the power and mercy of God, since nothing will more effectually preserve us in a straight and undeviating course, than a firm persuasion that all events are in the hand of God, and that he is as merciful as he is mighty."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Gift of Perseverance"
Ephesians 1:13-14

13 In him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of his glory. (ESV)

The idea of persevering in the faith brings with the concept of clinging fast to our confession of Christ and working out our salvation "with fear and trembling" (Philippians 2:12). However, this brings to mind questions about our role in salvation. The idea of perseverance seems synergistic, whereas we believe that God's role in salvation is monergistic. (Big words, I know..."synergistic" means that more than one entity team up; "monergistic" means that only one entity is involved.)

Reformation theology does not teach that all of the Christian life is monergistic, or the work of God alone. "Scripture insists that regeneration is the monergistic work of the Holy Spirit (John 3:1-8). We are born again and enabled to have faith through our Creator's work alone. Yet after conversion, our growth in actual, personal holiness results from our cooperation with God, which is, of course, a direct result of God's sovereign grace."

Perseverance does involve effort from us, but it is still a gift from God. "We strive to keep ourselves in Christ only because of the benefits of God's unmerited grace."



Holiness Day by Day

"Making Up Our Deficiencies?"
Luke 18:13

But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, �God, be merciful to me, a sinner!� (ESV)

What is sin? It is more than wrongdoing. It is more than just action. It is an attitude that basically ignores God's Law. But it is still more than just a rebellious attitude. "Sin is a state of corruption in our inmost being, of vileness, even of filthiness in God's sight. For this reason the Bible never speaks of God's grace as simply making up our deficiencies--as if salvation consists in so much good works plus so much of God's grace."

"Rather the Bible speaks of a God 'who justifies the ungodly' (Romans 4:5), who is found by those who do not seek Him, who reveals Himself to those who do not ask for Him (Romans 10:20).

In the verse quoted above, the tax collector did not ask God to make up his defiencies. He asked to to "be merciful to me, a sinner!" He declared complete spiritual bankruptcy. On that basis, he experienced the grace of God. Jesus declared that this man went home justified!

We don't need our "deficiencies" made up--we need a remedy for our guilt. We need "cleansing for our pollution." God's justice must be satisfied. Our debt must be paid, and we cannot pay it. That is what His grace is for. Grace presupposes sin and guilt. To quote Dr. C. Samuel Storms, "Grace has meaning only when men are seen as fallen, unworthy of salvation, and liable to eternal wrath."

Amen and hallelujah!



Father, I praise you, first of all, because you are as merciful as you are mighty! We would have no hope whatsoever in this life or the next if you were not! I thank you, also, that you do not, nor can you, swerve from what you have said. You are the only consistent being in the entirety of creation. Even our best friends and family are not always consistent with us. But you, O God, never fail and never deviate from your truth.

I pray, Lord, for faithfulness in the work of holiness. I realize that my perseverance in your truth is your gift, just as my faith to be saved was your gift. However, I also acknowledge my part in being consecrated, or in keeping myself holy. I don't always understand the nature of this walk, Lord, but I believe that the Bible tells me, and that is that I am responsible to "work out my salvation in fear and trembling." So I pray for strength, faithfulness and wisdom to do so.

Finally, I thank you again for grace. I thank you that you made me see how unworthy I am to receive your grace, and how I could never make up for anything I lack in you! It is all a gift from you; I have nothing that you did not give me! I cannot ever begin to pay the enormous debt that I owe you because of my sin. In fact, it would be an affront to your mercy and grace, should I attempt to do so. All of the works that I do in my life are not an attempt to repay you for your gifts. In fact, they would not be "gifts" at all, if I could repay them. Nor are my works done out of gratitude for my salvation. The Bible does not teach this either! My works, Lord, such as they are (and filthy rags, as well, they are!) only the evidence of my faith in you. They are the result of what you have placed in my life and in my heart. They are fruit. Nothing more; nothing less.

Praise you, my God! Hallelujah!



Take comfort today, in the fact that God is every bit as merciful as he is mighty! Ponder that truth as you do whatever it is you must do today.

Grace and peace, friend!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com