A Place At the Father's Table
2009-05-14

Stephanie's got a cold, but she still went to school today and made it through the day. She's a real trooper!


Here's a prayer point from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

Pray also for President Obama and his advisors as they have now narrowed the search for a new Supreme Court Justice. Pray for the ongoing process of vetting and interviewing the possible candidates, asking God to bring to the bench the justice of His choosing...



Psalm for today: 52:1-7

1-4 Why do you brag of evil, "Big Man"?
God's mercy carries the day.
You scheme catastrophe;
your tongue cuts razor-sharp,
artisan in lies.
You love evil more than good,
you call black white.
You love malicious gossip,
you foul-mouth.

5 God will tear you limb from limb,
sweep you up and throw you out,
Pull you up by the roots
from the land of life.

6-7 Good people will watch and
worship. They'll laugh in relief:
"Big Man bet on the wrong horse,
trusted in big money,
made his living from catastrophe."
(The Message)

The "Big Man" spoken of here is Doeg the Edomite, who gave up David's hiding place to Saul.

"...the great end which God has in view, when he prostrates the pride of the ungodly, is the comfort of his oen people, that he may show to them the care with which he watches over their safety."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Saving Purpose of Christ"
1 Timothy 1:15-16

15 The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. 16 But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life.

Between today's verses and yesterday's, Paul's point is this. Jesus came into the world to save sinners, and if he can save Paul, he can save anybody. Paul sees his own salvation as an example for all who would believe after him.



Holiness Day by Day

Week 4/Thursday

"At the King's Table"
2 Samuel 9:7

And David said to him, �Do not fear, for I will show you kindness for the sake of your father Jonathan, and I will restore to you all the land of Saul your father, and you shall eat at my table always.�

This verse is pretty much the ending of the beautiful story of David and the crippled son of Saul, Mephibosheth. David desired to show kindness to anyone who was left from the house of Saul.

Just like Mephibosheth, we are crippled. As Randy Stonehill once sang, "We all, like foolish puppets, who desiring to be kings, now lie pitifully crippled, after cutting our own strings..." But, by the grace of God, we are elevated to a place at the King's table, as God's children, for the sake of Christ.

"Mephibosheth never got to the place where he could leave the king's table and make it on his own. And neither do we."

Nor do I want to.



Father, once again, I find myself being so very grateful for your grace in my life. I thank you that you have brought me to your table and that I have an eternal place at that table. I thank you that you found me, crippled, and adopted me as your child. I am eternally your child, and accept that I cannot make it on my own. I will boast in my weakness, because it magnifies you and your power.


Let us all glory in the fact that Jesus has made us worthy of a place at our Father's table, and that place will always be there for us.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com