How Do We Treat Sin In Other Believers?
2009-04-16

I know it's been a few days since I've updated here. There's obviously been a lot going on, and it seems like every day, there was some "extracurricular" activity in the afternoon that kept me away. I thought it would be that way today, but Christi is working late, so I'm taking advantage to try to get "caught up" on my devotional reading.


But, as always, I'll start with today's prayer for the President from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis to exhibit wise and effective leadership as she seeks to do the best for all America�s working persons

Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.
�Ephesians 6:7

Gracious God, we thank You today that one of the most significant ways we can make You real in others� lives is by serving them. Your Word even provides insight on the attitude we should have when we perform acts of service, for it calls us to think of our work for others as though we are doing it for You. This wonderful revelation gives us the right perspective in all we do. Thank you, Lord, for that.

We intercede today for one of the servants you�ve appointed in our federal government, Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis. God, help her serve effectively and with a godly attitude, and enable her and her team to come up with solutions to improve the lives and working conditions for all Americans. Give her Your wisdom and empower her to lead, we ask in the name of Jesus, amen.



Psalm for Today: 33:1-3

33:1 Shout for joy in the Lord, O you righteous!
Praise befits the upright.
2 Give thanks to the Lord with the lyre;
make melody to him with the harp of ten strings!
3 Sing to him a new song;
play skillfully on the strings, with loud shouts.

"Does anyone object that music is very useful for awakening the minds of men and moving their hearts? Certainly, but we should always take care that no corruption creep in, which might both defile the pure worship of God and involve men in superstition."

(Commentery from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

I had to really search this reading to find something to quote, because the majority of the reading was Calvin stating his belief that instruments were not suitable for celebrating the praises of God. I disagree wholeheartedly with Calvin on this point. Just goes to show...you'll never be in agreement 100% with anyone.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Gentle Admonition"
Galatians 6:1

Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted.

Believers who are "Spirit-led" mourn when other believers sin, and work to restore them. But they do it with mercy. "If harsh words are necessary, they are spoken gently to show sinners a desire for their repentance and cleansing." Believers should never be inflexible or angry in this desire to correct others.

But believers also must take care, lest they be tempted by the same sins that they seek to correct. "Too often we look down on others when they fall, but when led by the Holy Spirit, we never think that we deserve grace more than even the most notorious sinner." And Augustine says, "there is no surer test of the spiritual person than his treatment of another's sin."



Father, may I always treat others' sins the same way that I would have mine treated. I am well aware of my shortcomings, my weaknesses. Let me never look down on someone else because of their weakness! I have been guilty of this, my Lord! I ask forgiveness and repent of this grievous error. Let me always remember that I am, indeed, "my brother's keeper," and this involves, at times, gentle correction. But it also involves the willingness to be corrected, as well.


That's all I'm doing today. I'll get back into my reading through the Bible tomorrow.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com