Day 346--In Adoration
2009-03-07

Missed a couple of days. The later part of this week was tough. We had a meltdown with Steph Thursday night, and are really clueless about what brought it on. Two doctor's appointments resulted in me missing my devotional time Thursday and Friday.


Here's today's prayer for the President from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For wisdom for President Obama as he steps in to the role of Commander-in-Chief, that he may be a strong and respected leader of our military

The LORD gave David victory everywhere he went.
--I Chronicles 18:13 (NIV)

Mighty God, our hearts break to know that war is a tragic reality in the history of Your people and of this world. We praise You for the great example of King David who led and ruled in service to You, honoring You and obeying You in all things. You alone are worthy of this allegiance O God; You alone are worthy of being lifted high before all kingdoms, powers and principalities as the reason for David�s triumphs and the source of his abilities.

We ask You, Lord, that You would also help President Obama seek and glorify You as the Commander-in-Chief of our United States military forces. Give him Your strength and enable him with Your wisdom as he makes strategic decisions regarding the ongoing war on terror in Iraq, Afghanistan and elsewhere. Empower President Obama to lead in such a way that he would have the full respect of all military leaders serving our nation as he honors You first and foremost. In Jesus� name we pray, amen.



Psalm for Today: 20

May the LORD answer you in the day of trouble!
May the name of the God of Jacob protect you!
May he send you help from the sanctuary and give you support from Zion!
May he remember all your offerings and regard with favor your burnt sacrifices!

May he grant you your heart's desire and fulfill all your plans!
May we shout for joy over your salvation, and in the name of our God set up our banners!
May the LORD fulfill all your petitions!

Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed;
he will answer him from his holy heaven with the saving might of his right hand.
Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.
They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright.

O LORD, save the king!
May he answer us when we call.

"We see how natural it is to almost all men to be the more courageous and confident the more they possess of riches, power and military forces.
"The people of God, therefore, here protest that they do not place their hope, as is the usual way with men, in their military forces and warlike apparatus, but only in the aid of God."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 346 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Peter 3:13-18

Through thick and thin, keep your hearts at attention, in adoration before Christ, your Master. Be ready to speak up and tell anyone who asks why you're living the way you are, and always with the utmost courtesy.

(Emphasis is mine.)

Peter exhorts us to adore Christ "through thick and thin." In every circumstance. In my experience, this is a difficult thing to do, but not, of course, impossible. I know it's not impossible because I have known people who do it. He also links our adoration of Christ to our acts of doing good to others. Personally, I think the more I'm adoring Christ, the better I will be to other people. So if you seem me not being very nice to people, guess what? My mind and heart are focused on something other than Christ at the moment. More than likely, they are focused on myself and my problems.

Take this last Thursday night at work, for example. Due to the aforementioned meltdown, I felt like curling up into a fetal position and crying all night. I was so focused on my own problem and not on Christ that it made me not much fun to be around. I don't think I was ever flat-out rude to anyone, just not very friendly. Yes, I had a problem. But did I have to focus on it like that? Of course not! I should have been concentrating more on Jesus and his answers to my problems, even if he's not letting me in on what those answers are at the moment! "Through thick and thin, keep your hearts at attention, in adoration before Christ, your Master!"



My loving Savior, I realize now my fault this past few days. I immersed myself in self-pity, concentrating on my problem instead of on you. I confess that sin and ask your forgiveness for it. I pray for wisdom and strength to do differently the next time that situation arises. No matter what the problem, I need to keep my heart at attention, in loving adoration before you. I feel a wave of this adoration flooding over me even now, as I am being honest with you. And with myself. Thursday night was brutal, Jesus, and all because I let myself focus on something other than you. I pray that I've learned my lesson.


I plan to walk through this day in total adoration before Christ. No matter what.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com