Day 340--Wise Living
2009-02-27

Friday finally made it! And a very welcome one it is, too. Stephanie still didn't get to school, and her mother is taking her back to the doctor in the morning. Steph claims the pain in her wrist is getting worse. We appreciate the prayers that have been going up.


Here's today's prayer for the President via the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For members of President Obama�s cabinet to have freedom to speak openly as they work together

Speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into Him who is the Head, that is, Christ.
--Ephesians 4:15

Holy Lord, God, You are the Author of all truth; there is nothing that is true that does not have You as its source. You are holy, pure, righteous and true, and we praise and thank You that we can trust in You and Your righteousness and goodness. Light and beauty dwell in You, O loving Lord God!

Gracious God, we bring before You the members of President Barack Obama�s cabinet. They are a unique and diverse group of gifted individuals. We ask for Your guidance and help for them as they serve the President, and in turn, us. When they gather in periodic meetings, Lord, bring into their midst a spirit of freedom and truth, that they may speak freely and openly with one another and the President as they listen to him and serve our nation. May they each desire to serve Your highest purposes for our nation, rather than any personal or political agenda. In Your mighty name, amen.



Psalm for Today: 19:2-6

Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard.
Their measuring line goes out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.
In them he has set a tent for the sun,
which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber, and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy.
Its rising is from the end of the heavens, and its circuit to the end of them, and there is nothing hidden from its heat.

"David here teaches,from the established alternations of days and nights, that the course and revolutions of the sun, and moon, and stars, are regulated by the marvellous wisdom of God. If, indeed, we were as attentive as we ought to be, even one day would suffice to bear testimony to us of the glory of God, and even one night would be sufficient to perform to us the same office. David, therefore, with the highest reason, declares, that although God should not speak a single word to men, yet the orderly and useful succession of days and nights eloquently proclaims the glory of God, and that there is now left to men no pretext for ignorance."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 340 in The Message//Remix:Solo

James 3:13-18

James defines wisdom here in this passage. First he tells us what it is not.

It's not ambition that runs rough-shod over people.

It's simply asserting that you are wise.

It's not putting a spin on things to make yourself seem wise to others.

These things are described as "animal cunning, devilish conniving." The result? "Things fall apart and everyone ends up at the others' throats."

Then he describes what wisdom is.

It begins with a holy life.

It is characterized by getting along with others.

It is gentle and reasonable.

It overflows with mercy and blessings.

The main thrust of it is getting along with others.

This is a very informative passage. Because there are many people, thought to be wise, who cannot get along with anyone. Therefore, by biblical definition, they are not wise.

Now, I take these characteristics and set them up against my life. Have I acted wisely lately? Do I get along with everyone? Hm. I have to say, "No." Not all the time. Oh, sure, I get along fine with most people, most of the time. There are even times when I get along fine with everyone. But it's not consistent. And James does also mention that it's not "hot one day and cold the next." So...bottom line? I'm not wise, at least not all the time.

It's hard work, being wise. James says so in verses 17-18 of our passage. I agree. Because it is hard work going against my initial instinct to react to someone or something.



Father, I see these words on being wise. I love them, just as I am continuing more and more to fall more in love with your Word. I see, in these words, my shortcomings. It is my desire to be wise. It is my desire to do the hard work of getting along with others. It is also my desire to treat others with dignity and honor. I pray for your help in this. I pray for your wisdom to infiltrate my spirit and take up residence.


Here's a challenge that I don't know if I'm up to...

The book says to ask a friend or family member to give honest feedback over the next few weeks about wisdom in your life. Whew. It would have to be someone I trust implicitly. I'm sure my wife would be glad to "critique" my wisdom. Heheh.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com