Day 332--Spiritual Lifeline
2009-02-15

Don't have much energy this morning. I didn't sleep well last night, and I needed a better night's rest to help get this sickness out of me. I'll be ok, though. I hope I don't fall asleep during the sermon this morning.


Here's today's prayer for the President from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For Mrs. Marian Robinson to have the blessing of friendship and fellowship in her new home
A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.
�Proverbs 17:17(NIV)

Lord, often we never feel more alone than we do when we are in a new home in a new city. Though surrounded by people and clamor, we are isolated, because we have no specific people for ourselves no close friends to fill the relational void in our life. Even as we realize You are there and would never leave us, there is still a need for true friends who love us always.

With that in mind, Lord, we intercede now for Mrs. Marian Robinson, that You to provide her with genuine and trusted friends that she can confide in and gain strength from as she works to care for her granddaughters Malia and Sasha. Select people of honor and integrity that love You, and place them in Mrs. Robinson�s path in the days and months to come. Do this, O God, so she may be blessed and drawn closer to You. Thank you, Lord, by Your power we pray, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 17:4-15

With regard to the works of man, by the word of your lips I have avoided the ways of the violent.
My steps have held fast to your paths; my feet have not slipped.

I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God;
incline your ear to me; hear my words.
Wondrously show your steadfast love, O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.
Keep me as the apple of you eye;
hide me in the shadow of your wings,
from the wicked who do me violence, my deadly enemies who surround me.

They close their hearts to pity;
with their mouths they speak arrogantly.
They have now surrounded our steps;
they set their eyes to cast us to the ground.
He is like a lion eager to tear, as a young lion lurking in ambush.

Arise, O LORD! Confront him, subdue him!
Deliver my soul from the wicked by your sword,
from men by your hand, O LORD, from men of the world whose portion is in this life.
You fill their womb with treasure;
they are satisfied with children, and they leave their abundance to their infants.

As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

"Whenever we approach God, let the first thought impressed on our minds be, that as he is not in vain called the preserver of those who trust in him, we have no reason whatever to be afraid of his not being ready to succour us, provided our faith continue firmly to rely upon his grace. And if every way of deliverance is shut up, let us also at the same time remember that he is possessed of wonderful and inconceivable means of succouring us, which serve so much the more conspicuously to magnify and manifest his power.
"...whenever men rise up to molest and injure the righteous, war is waged against God."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 332 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Hebrews 6:13-19

The emphasis in this passage is on hope and promise. God made a promise to Abraham, putting his own reputation on the line. In fact, anytime God makes a promise, he puts his reputation on the line. When God makes a promise, he backs it up with his word, which cannot be broken. God cannot break his word. "And because his word cannot change, the promise is likewise unchangeable."

Therefore, those of us who have "run for our very lives to God," can grab hold of the hope of these promises. What part has hope played in our lives? What is the opposite of hope? Several words come to mind. Despair. Suspicion. Doubt. Cycicism (ouch). Do we ever experience those? I do. But hope shatters all of those. If we latch onto that hope, we have no reason to allow despair, suspicion, doubt and cycicism to rule in our lives. This promised hope is "an unbreakable spiritual lifeline, reaching past all appearances right to the very presence of God."

YES!

And, unlike "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?" this "lifeline" can be used infinitely, not just three times.

Sorry for the pop culture reference, there, but, hey...it's true! With God, we never run out of lifelines.

Honestly, my entire demeanor has changed just while reading this devotion. This is good stuff.



Father, I praise you for your promises. I praise you for your word, which is unbreakable and unchangeable! I thank you for your promise of hope, which we can latch onto with both hands and never let go. This "spiritual lifeline," through which we can reach right to your presence. Your presence is the most important thing to me. Anything is possible when I realize I'm in your presence. I know that you are there 24/7, but I don't always realize it. Help me to latch onto that truth more often. Ah, Lord, your grace is truly amazing!


I'm going to walk through this day with an attitude of greater hope and trust. With expectancy and anticipation. And I'm not going to let anything beat it out of me.

Carpe vita eternus, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com