DAY 325--A GOD-FILLED LIFE
2009-02-06

Dear God, please, please, please help us with Stephanie right now. She's having the fit of the year. She wants to go live with someone else. She hates this house. She has no clue where she's going, but she's going to text someone and ask them if she can live there.

All of this because she can't use the computer today because she didn't go to all of her classes at school.

Which of course, she knew would be the consequence if she didn't.

I'm tired. I'm weary. I'm exhausted. I'm not sure I can do this any more.



But I'll still carry on with the things that I feel convicted that I need to do, and the first of those is praying for the President.

For the Obama family to be led by God to a local congregation that can nurture and support them spiritually
So that by God's will I may come to you with joy and together with you be refreshed.
�Romans 15:32 (NIV)

Gracious God, You call us into fellowship, not only with Yourself, but also with one another. We praise and thank You for creating us with the need to spend time with You as we spend time in worship, fellowship and praise with one another. We love You Lord, and thank You for the gift of the Church, Your means of accomplishing and working out your will in the world.

Today, we ask Your blessing on our nation�s churches, and pray that You will lead President and Mrs. Obama and their daughters, Malia and Sasha, to a local congregation in Washington, D.C. where they are able to be nurtured and supported spiritually. Prepare just the right place for them, Lord�a congregation that is willing to be inconvenienced a bit while they welcome the First Family with open arms and loving hearts so that the Obamas may be spiritually refreshed. I ask this in Jesus� mighty name, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 15:5

...who does not put out his money at interest and does not take a bribe against the innocent.
He who does these things shall never be moved.

(Again, still answering the question posed in verse 1, "Who shall dwell on your holy hill?")

"David seems to condemn all kinds of usury in general, so that the very name has been everywhere held in detestation. But crafty men have invented specious names under which to conceal the vice; and thinking by this artifice to escape, they have plundered with greater excess than if they had lent on usury avowedly and openly.

"Let us then remember that all bargains in which the one party unrighteously strives to make gain by the loss of the other party, whatever name may be given to them, are condemned.

"With respect to usury, it is scarcely possible to find in the world a usurer who is not at the same time an extortioner, and addicted to unlawful and dishonourable gain. Accordingly, Cato of old justly placed the practice of usury and the killing of men in the same rank of criminality, for the object of this class of people is to suck the blood of other men."

(Commentary from Heart Flame: Readings from Calvin On the Psalms)

And what has our country just done? Sent billions of dollars right into the pockets of the very men who are being discussed in this commentary.

Our condemnation is just.



Day 325 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Titus 2:11-14

Here are the phrases that stand out to me in this passage:

We're being shown how to turn our backs on a a godless, indulgent life...

...a God-filled, God-honoring life.

...energetic in goodness.

Why are these words that I need right now?

Perhaps my life is still a bit self-indulgent. It's not "godless." I have that part taken care of. But is it "God-filled?" I can't honestly say "yes" to that. My life is not "God-filled." Is it "God-honoring?" Sometimes. But not 24/7. And that's the goal, isn't it? Someone might say, "That's not possible, honoring God 24/7!" I would answer that, "Why not?" I believe it is possible. I don't know if I will ever achieve it, but I believe it is possible.

Am I "energetic in goodness?" Heh. I'm not very energetic about anything. There could definitely be improvement there, too.



Father, I come to you a second time this afternoon, this time asking you for help for my own life. Guide me, please in turning my back completely on a self-indulgent life. In fact, help me turn my back on anything that would make me appear to have a "godless" life. And, as that is happening, then guide me into a "God-filled, God honoring life." Move me towards the place where I am honoring you with my life 24/7. That could turn out to be painful, I realize, because there might be some things that I really like that might have to fall along the wayside.

I also ask for help in being more "energetic in goodness." I know that you are very "energetic in goodness." That is part of your nature. Make it part of mine.



I'm going to simply quote the final paragraph from the book today.

Consider God, who is "energetic in goodness." Inhale that goodness. See how much God wishes to bring you along. Try on the belief that this new life starts right now.

Carpe eternus vita, friends.

Ok. Maybe I'm a little more ready to deal with Stephanie now. Pray for us.



3 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com