DAY 320--RUN AFTER MATURE RIGHTEOUSNESS
2009-01-30

I don't have much time so I have to hurry.


Here'sthedailyprayerforPresidentObama....

Ok. Just kidding. (It's much harder to type that way than I thought it would be. My thumb won't let me leave the spaces out!)

Here's the daily prayer for President Obama from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For the love and faithfulness of God to be constantly remembered in the White House and throughout the Obama administration
Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, descended from David. This is my gospel.
�II Timothy 2:8 (NIV)

Christ, Your resurrection proclaims Your deity, and Your descent from David shows Your humanity; both of these truths are basic to the Gospel. Because You are God, Lord Jesus, Your death has infinite value; since You were a man, You could rightfully become our substitute. Your plan of salvation is perfect and complete.

We intercede today, O God, that Your love and faithfulness, displayed in its totality at the cross, would always be brought to the minds of those serving in the White House. Whatever their role and position of authority or service, Lord, we pray that each person would see themselves and their privilege of responsibility through the lens of Your love for them, so that they may focus on Your faithfulness in their lives and be brought nearer to You. Do this, O God, in the name of Christ, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 14:7

Oh, that salvation for Israel would come out of Zion!
When the LORD restores the fortunes of his people, let Jacob rejoice, let Israel be glad.

In this verse, David shows us that, after bemoaning the condition of man for a time, it is fitting to return to prayer. And in the prayer, by putting "Zion" at the end of it, he shows that his hope is in God, because "Zion was the holy place from which God had promised to hear the prayers of his servants." It was also the dwelling place of the ark of the covenant.

In this petition, we also see that his thoughts are occupied by the whole of God's people, moreso than himself. Calvin believes that, in this short verse, David is giving encouragement to all of God's people to hope for God's deliverance.

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readins from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 320 in The Message//Remix:Solo

2 Timothy 2:22-26

Paul cuts right to the quick in this passage (at least for me) of advice to Timothy. Once again, just like yesterday, he tells us to "run away" from something. Yesterday, it was to run from the temptations of letting the accumulation of money be our goal. Today it is from "infantile indulgence."

??What's that mean??

ESV says "youthful passions." I'm pretty sure KJV says "youthful lusts." Basically, it is things which we would chase after when immature. Paul tells us to run away from such things. So, when you "run away" you are always running "to" something, right? In this case, it is "mature righteousness--faith, love, peace--joining those who are in honest and serious prayer before God." That may seem like an impossibility..."mature righteousness"...if you're like me at all. But it isn't impossible. Faith, love, and peace, are not impossible. Plus if you succeed in "joining those who are in honest and serious prayer," there is strength in numbers. Why else does the author of Hebrews admonish us to not "forsake the assembling of ourselves together?"

So, in the very next breath, Paul kicks me in the gut. "Refuse to get involved in inane discussions...God's servant must not be argumentative, but a gentle listener!"

Excuse me while I writhe in pain.

While I believe it is ok for believers to calmly debate theology, we must never, ever "argue" about things of faith, especially in front of unbelievers. And I believe that is specifically what Paul is referring to here, because he speaks of them having a change of heart, and escaping the "Devil's trap."

This is a great challenge for me, as I tend to be hot-headed and argue a lot.



Father, I see the instruction in Paul's writing today, and I take it to heart because it speaks directly to me. Help me to "flee youthful lusts." Help me to "run away from inane indulgence." Rather let me run towards "mature righteousness." Let me gather, whenever possible, with other mature believers for honest and serious prayer.

Most of all, though, let me not be argumentative. Cool my hot head. Turn me into a gentle listener. I believe you can do it, because you can change the course of rivers, which run through solid rock. Soften my heart, as well as my head, Lord!



As I drive my daughter to "game night" at church, I will ponder how I am to live this out. I bet I get an opportunity to be argumentative soon. It's going to hurt. Pray for me.

I've almost got my breath back, now, from that kick in the gut.

Carpe eternus vita, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com