DAY 318--THE SPECIAL MINSTRY
2009-01-28

Today feels really strange because I didn't work last night. I slept until almost 10:30 this morning (I stayed up until 2:30...I was up to work, you know), and the day has just felt weird all around. But my wife is working from home and has a meeting right now, so I have the opportunity to get my Bible reading in.


As always, I'll start off with the daily prayer for President Obama from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For President Obama�s staff to desire and seek godly lifestyles based on Scripture
Since an overseer is entrusted with God�s work, he must be blameless not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain.
�Titus 1:7

Lord, You are wonderful to provide for us in Your Word directions and principles for daily living; instructions, God, of how we can pursue and achieve a godly lifestyle, not based on our own abilities, Lord, but on the abilities You place within us and empower us to activate. Thank you for this, Father.

God, we believe that You have placed President Obama and his staff in their positions of leadership and authority in our nation. We worship You that Your sovereign will has been done in the election, and that now You will enable each person, Lord, to want and pursue a lifestyle that honors You, as dictated by Your holy Word. Work individually and dramatically in each individual�s life, O God, and draw every man and woman to You in the process. We ask this, Lord, in the name of Your Son Jesus Christ, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 14:2

The LORD looks down from heaven on the children of man, to see if there are any who understand, who seek after God.

To summarize the commentary here, God is said to be looking down on people to see what they are doing. We know that this is anthopomorphism, because God need not "look down" here to see what men are doing. But this is to give us a picture of what God already knows, and to give us something to be fearful of. Then, David basically tells us that "unless men devote themselves wholly to God, their life cannot be well ordered." Understanding is equated with seeking God.

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 318 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Timothy 5:1-4,7-10

This passage deals with relationships between older and younger people, as well as treatment of widows.

Here are some cultural ideas that we may run across.

--Older people and younger people don't mix much.
--Older people are retired, so they don't do "special ministry." (You don't know many people who help out "with children, strangers, tired Christians, the hurt and troubled.")
--Older people are tired and don't want to do much at church anymore.
--Older people aren't generally the people you go to for advice.
--Older people have Social Security benefits and don't need anyone's help.
--Older people are people you feel sory for, not "reverently honor."

I have to consider...have I unconsciously accepted any of these ideas? I don't really think so. I find older and younger people mixing quite well in my own experience. They seem to be the ones who do most of the "special ministry" in our church. I don't see them as "tired." And I most certainly would consult someone older than me for advice in life.

After reading the passage again, I get a picture of an older person who has worked hard for God and taken care of her family. I see someone who never gets tired, and always seems to have the strength for whatever ministry is needed. In fact, I know an older lady that immediately pops into mind when I read this passage. She gives me a great hug every Sunday morning. She is very encouraging and is always sending us cards.

I hope this is the kind of elderly person I grow up to be.



Father, I thank you for people like Ms. Lou in my life, who always seem to be encouraging and who have their own "special ministry" in the church. I pray that you might bring more people like that into the body that we participate in. I also pray that as I grow older, I will be like her. I also pray that our church would be quick to give her and anyone else like her assistance, should the need arise.


We should be on the lookout for anyone who is in need of "special ministry" (Pauls calls this "offering assistance," indicating, I believe monetary help or donations of goods) in our churches or circles in which we hang. This is one of the aspects that makes the body of Christ unique. We are all supposed to be looking out for one another.

May we, no matter how old we are, no matter how feeble we get, always get up eagerly every day, anxious to "be with Jesus and partner with him in what he's doing in the world."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com