DAY 309--NOT A SET-UP FOR REJECTION
2009-01-17

Ok. Wow. I missed, like, four days this week. Stephanie's school schedule wreaks havoc on my daily schedule. She got out early three days in a row, because of final exams, and I had to get up in the middle of my sleep and use an hour or so picking her up. I slept too late all of those afternoons, and my normal devotional time is in the afternoons after I pick her up from school.

As for yesterday, I don't really have an excuse for that one. Anyway...here we go.



Here's today's prayer for President Elect Obama and company from the Presidential Prayer Team. Incidentally, after the inauguration, they are launching a program called "Praying through the first 100 days." I don't know what happens after that...but I'll keep praying beyond that, anyway.





For God to lead and guide President and Mrs. Bush as they step away from Washington and seek new paths of service and influence
Remember your leaders, who spoke the word of God to you. Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith.
�Hebrews 13:7

Holy Lord God, You are strong, mighty and powerful, and You move among us so that we cannot miss Your presence and activity in the world. You know all things, and all things are revealed by You and before You, and we thank You for that truth today.

Heavenly Father, we also come to You now on behalf of President George Bush and Mrs. Laura Bush. We praise You, Lord, for their years of service to our nation. We honor You for giving them hearts that love and revere You. We remember them and we thank You for their faith in You. Guide and direct them into what You now have in store for them as they take up residence in Dallas and Crawford, Texas. May they continue to make a difference and have an influence for good in our nation and the world. We ask this, mighty God, in the name of Jesus, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 145
The LORD is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
The LORD is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.
Verses 8-9


Day 309 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Thessalonians 5:1-10

We don't know when the Lord's return is going to be. Paul describes it as being similar to not knowing when a thief is going to come and steal our stuff. It will be when we least expect it. People will be living their lives normally, going about their business and "POOM!!" (shout-out to John Madden, there) here he comes!!

Just a side note, here. This writer does not believe in the popular "rapture" theory. I believe that the Lord's return will be the "second coming." That is when we will be resurrected (if we have "fallen asleep") or caught up to meet him. In my opinion, Scripture offers no evidence that Jesus will return twice.

All that aside, either way, the world will end at some point, when Jesus returns. What kind of feelings does that awake in you? It excites me, because, frankly, I'm pretty weary of this world and its entrapments. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty about this world that I like. But it weighs me down. I'm looking forward to not having to deal with temptation any more. I'm looking forward to not having any kind of pain any more, be it emotional or physical. I'm especially looking forward to seeing the face of my Savior! I get tears in my eyes just thinking about that.

I'm also slightly nervous. Because, maybe I missed something somewhere. What if I'm not really ready? But I don't believe those questions are from God. I'm with Paul when he says, "We know where we stand." I have thrown in with Jesus. I have made my stand with him. I don't always "stand." Sometimes I fall. But he forgives and restores.

Do I live every day as though I truly believe that he could return at any moment?

I don't like that question. It hurts me. Because I don't. What if he comes back when I'm in the middle of something I shouldn't be doing? What if I'm whining about something when he returns? What if I'm having lustful thoughts when he returns?

whatifwhatifwhatifwhatifwhatif?????

Know what? We can't live our lives in "what-if-land." I have to move on. But I can try to make myself more aware of how I live each day. To stop and think, "Jesus could return today!" before I do anything.

The title of today's devotion comes from the last paragraph of this passage, where Paul says, "God didn't set us up for an angry rejection but for salvation by our Master, Jesus Christ." This comes on the heels of his admonition that we be awake and alert, keeping our eyes open, watching for Christ's return.



Jesus, I feel confident, most of the time, in where I stand with you. There times, though, when I doubt. Forgive me for those times, and help me be more confident all the time. I could also do better at being ready for your return. Let me know your salvation more confidently and be able to resist those temptations that compromise my faith in you. Let me be found worthy when you return, dear Jesus.


Ruth Haley Barton wrote these words: "Is God really good? If I trust myself to him, isn't there a good chance that I will wind up where I least want to be or that God will withhold what I want the most? Isn't God a little bit like Lucy in the Peanuts comic strip, who pull the football away just as Charlie Brown gives himself completely to the kick, causing him to fall flat on his face?"

Aren't there people who truly believe these things about God? (By the way, Ms. Barton is not one of them...those are rhetorical questions.) But remember what Paul said in the final paragraph..."God didn't set us up for an angry rejection but for salvation by our Master, Jesus Christ." God will not yank the football away. He is not a tease. He does what he says he will do. However, it is up to us to remember that what we want the most is not always what is best for us.

God is trustworthy.

God is good. All the time.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com