DAY 307--SOMEONE ELSE'S FAITH AND LOVE
2009-01-11

"Here I am to worship,
here I am to bow down,
here I am to say that you're my God..."--Tim Hughes


Well, it's January 11, and I've managed to have a worship time every day this year so far. Good start. And the addition of the worship music seems to have intensified the "experience" a little bit. I have to be sure it's not distracting, though.


Here's today's prayer for President-elect Obama and company from the Presidential Prayer Team.

For the ministry of Barry C. Black, Chaplain of the U.S. Senate, to be strengthened and expanded that members may grow in their love of God�s Word and may walk in His ways.
He appointed some of the Levites to minister before the ark of the Lord, to make petition, to give thanks, and to praise the Lord, the God of Israel.
�1 Chronicles 16:4

Thank You, O gracious, loving God, for You have provided the way for every person on Earth to be cleansed of sin and guilt. Thank You for the sacrifice of Your Son, Jesus Christ, whose blood washes us clean and leads us to our heavenly home. Thank You, Lord, for those You call to declare His Word and His ways to others in need of You.

Heavenly Father, we praise You today for the Chaplain of the U.S. Senate, and for the unique position of influence he has on Capitol Hill. Anoint afresh Chaplain Barry Black and his staff for the work You have given him to do. Allow him to be sensitive to the spiritual needs of the members of the Senate, and use him to declare Your truth to the men and women serving in the Senate. In the name of Christ Jesus, amen.



Psalm for today: Psalm 143

I remember the days of old;
I meditate on all that you have done;
I ponder the work of your hands.
I stretch out my hands to you;
my soul thirsts for you like a parched land.
Verses 5-6



Day 307 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Thessalonians 3:6-13

Paul is celebrating a long distance relationship in this passage. They have received a good report from Timothy on the faith of the Church at Thessalonica, and it has encouraged them. He even has a difficult time coming up with words to use to thank God for the joy that they have received because of this encouraging report. It also increases his desire to see these people again, so he prays for God to "clear the road" for them to be able to go to Thessalonica.

The author asks me to think of people that I know who "live their lives before God, routinely showing 'faith and love' and giving others joy."

A few people come to mind when I think of this. And it actually gives the Scripture passage more meaning when I read it thinking about these people.



Father, as I read this passage from Thessalonians, I think of some people in my life that I have been blessed by. I'm thankful that you have worked things out so that our paths have crossed in one way or another.

I thank you for Phillipp at work, that you have placed yet another person at my job that has faith and love for you. His faith and love encourage me greatly, more than I can even put into words. I thank you that he thinks well of me. His faith is so alive that it makes me feel more alive. It gives me much joy to fellowship with him.

I thank you for a dear couple in Pennsylvania, the Brancadoras, whom you allowed to touch our lives back when Rachel was in elementary school. Julie's faith is amazing. The love that she expresses is stronger than any human I have ever met. There was no way to be around her and not feel your love and be filled with your joy.

I thank you for Ryan at "church," our youth pastor. His faith is also strong, but he is a little different in that he has intellectual strength that I have not often encountered. He challenge my mind as much as my spirit. I thank you for that.

I'm sure that there are many others that I have encountered in my life, either personally, or by reading or listening.

But, for now, I pray for these people that I have mentioned by name. I pray, Jesus, that if their faith ever falters, that someone will be close by to hold them up (even let that be me, if possible). I pray that roads will be clear between us so that we might be always able to see each other, and that they might be able to visit other believers who have uplifted them. I pray that your love will fill all of us up so that it "splashes over on everyone." I pray that we all might be "infused with strength and purity." And I pray that we will be "filled with confidence" in your presence.

I also pray for everyone who reads this. If they be believers, may you "pour on the love so it fills [their] lives and splashes over on everyone around [them]." If they be not believers, may your love infect them so that they have no choice but to believe in your great love and mercy.

I rejoice and rest in the fact that there are people in this world who love you and live the Message.



Grace and peace, friends!


0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com