DAY 300--NOTHING LESS THAN TOTAL COMMITMENT
2009-01-04

Good morning, all! First Sunday of the new year. I've tried to pick songs for our worship this morning that give hope and purpose for a new year. Songs like, "Let the Peace of God Reign," by Hillsongs, and "Knowing You." We're also singing one that I wrote called "The Center of Your Holiness."


Here's the Presidential Prayer Team daily prayer for President-elect Obama and company.

For all the members of the new administration to be persons above reproach
Now the overseer must be above reproach, the husband of but one wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, not given to drunkenness, not violent but gentle, not quarrelsome, not a lover of money. He must manage his own family well and see that his children obey him with proper respect.
�I Timothy 3:2-4

O beautiful and magnificent God, You are high and holy and lifted up, far above all You have made! You reign in the heavens in purity and unimaginable glory. You invite us to share in Your splendor and perfection, and I praise and thank You for providing the way through Your Son, Jesus Christ. Thank You for this rich and gracious provision, O God!

Today I bring before You every member of the new administration, asking that as President-Elect Barack Obama builds his team, he will seek out those of exemplary character. Bring to his attention those who are above reproach in their lifestyles, tastes and choices�people who will honor and obey You as they serve. May they be built together as a strong and solid team, giving life and blessing to our nation. I ask this in Your name, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 136

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever.
Give thanks to the God of gods,
for his steadfast love endures forever.
Give thanks to the Lord of lords,
for his steadfast love endures forever;
Verses 1-3

(Psalm 136 is a kind of liturgical psalm, where the priest would read or chant the first part of each verse and the congregation would respond with "for his steadfast love endures forever." As it progresses, it mentions historical events in the life of Israel which are praiseworthy.)



Day 300 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Philippians 3:15-21

Paul speaks of "total commitment" in this passage. He admonishes us to keep focused on a goal. Then he says that if any of us have something else in mind, God will clear our vision. I believe this is true. I know that when I stray from the path of total commitment, God draws me back. He clears my vision.

Then there's a warning about the myriads of people out there "choosing other goals." Paul says that they are trying to get us to go along with them. I love how he describes them. "All they want is easy street. They hate Christ's Cross. But easy street is a dead-end street." And these people that are after other goals aren't necessarily people we know, although there are some of those. Mostly, they exist in advertisements. It doesn't take much television watching to find people enticing you away from a life of commitment to Christ. Celebrities such as Bill Maher insist that our faith is mental illness. "But easy street is a dead-end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites."

Finally, though, we see a promise of what is in store for those of us who are committed to Christ. Jesus will transform our earthly bodies into "glorious bodies like his own." He will make us beautiful. He will make everything as it should be, "under and around him." This promise gives me great hope. It makes this life much easier to cope with.



Jesus, I pray for committment. Help me be committed to wanting everything you have for me. Quench my desires for other things, things that, in the long run, will not deliver the hope and peace that you will deliver. Keep me from "taking other paths, choosing other goals." Keep me on your path. I give you thanks that there is more to this life for us who believe in you. I thank you for the promise that you will make us beautiful and that you will put everything right, making all things as they should be.

I also pray for those I run across who are traveling down a different path and choosing the wrong goals. Let me not be critical of them, but lovingly encourage them, showing them the true path of righteousness.



Oswald Chambers, in My Utmost For His Highest, said this:

The spiritual saint never believes circumstances to be haphazard, or thinks of his life as secular and sacred; he sees everything he is dumped down in as the means of securing the knowledge of Jesus Christ.

Nothing in my life happens by accident. All my circumstances are designed by my Father in heaven to bring me closer to him. Ponder that fact today. Let him draw you in. He wants to make you beautiful.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com