DAY 291--WHO WE ARE
2008-12-22

Good day to all. Three days until Christmas. I just found out that I have to work Christmas night (Thursday night/Friday morning). Pft. Oh, well. I guess I've been lucky to have that night off the last few years. I am off Wednesday night for Christmas morning, so that's good.


Here's today's Presidential Prayer Team prayer for President-elect Obama and company. Today's prayer is for the new Secretary of Treasury. Would not want his job. Uhuh.

For insight and clarity for President Elect Obama�s appointee to the position of Secretary of Treasury, Timothy Geithner
His master replied, �Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master's happiness!�
�Matthew 25:23

O Exalted Lord, You reign in perfect faithfulness over us�as individuals and as a nation. You have done great and mighty things in this country, and I praise and thank You for Your goodness to us, even in the midst of economic crisis and challenge.

God, we pray that President-Elect Barack Obama�s choice for the Secretary of the Treasury, Timothy Geithner, to have a heart like the good stewards celebrated in Matthew 25. Give him great wisdom, integrity and understanding about how to deal properly with our country�s economic concerns. Give him insight beyond his own experience so our nation will be able to meet the needs of its citizens. We give You praise and honor for hearing and responding. In the name of Christ our Lord, amen.



Psalm for today: Psalm 127

Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.
Verse 1

I believe that this warning applies to churches (among other things). If God is not directing the activities of a church group, they are done in vain. Many "good" things might come from them, but they labor in vain if God is not the author of them. Many things that are being done in the name of God by "churches" are simply man-made inventions, marketing schemes, and manipulative techniques.



I read an interesting passage in Matthew today. Matthew 27:51-53. And behold, the curtain of the temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. And the earth shook, and the rocks were split. The tombs were also opened. And many bodies of the saints who had fallen asleep were raised, and coming out of the tombs after his resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many.

I've heard sermons preached about the curtain being torn in two, and the significance that it was torn from top to bottom (pretty much impossible for a man to do that, because of the curtain rod). But I've never, in all of my 50 years, heard a sermon preached about the next two verses. I wonder why that is? In fact, I have never even heard those verses mentioned in "church." I find that very interesting.



Day 291 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Ephesians 1:11-19

Before reading the passage, today, I'm instructed to ponder my identity. Who am I--really? In what do I find my true identity and sense of worth? What makes me me?

Ultimately, I find my true identity and sense of worth in Christ. I know that's the "right answer." I also know that it's not true 24/7, because I let other things influence my "self." Sometimes I let events at work affect my true identity or my feeling of worth. Sometimes events at home do the same. But ultimately, none of that matters. If I sit here and really consider the truth, I am brought back to the reality that my sense of worth is solely tied to God. In him, I am worth much. Without him, I am worthless. I am nothing. There is such freedom with that realization! I just breathed a huge sigh of relief. There are things that have been weighing heavily on me recently, such as situations at work. But I don't need to worry about those. My job is not who I am. My home life is not who I am. Who I am is a brother of Christ. An heir to the kingdom. Don't worry, I'm not going off on a "I deserve the best of everything because I'm a child of the King" kick, here. Those people pervert the truth of the gospel. But my worth in Christ is infinite. So is yours. There are people out there that really need to come to grips with this. People who are hating on themselves right now, especially around this time of year. What makes me me is Jesus! Anything else is worthless.

Now, on to the Scripture reading. The first verse (verse 11) starts the thought right off. It's in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. There you go. Our identity is tied up in Christ. Later, It's in Christ that you, once you heard the truth and believed it (this Message of your salvation), found yourselves home free--signed, sealed, and delivered by the Holy Spirit. And finally, Paul prays for those who read this letter. He prays for God to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing him personally, your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is he is calling you to do, grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life he has for his followers, oh, the utter extravagance of his work in us who trust him--endless energy, boundless strength!

I have to quote some of this from a more traditional translation (my favorite, the English Standard Version), because (with all due respect) I don't think Peterson's translation captures the power of the passage.

Beginning in verse 16, I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly places...

This passage has had a serious impact in my life more than once. And this afternoon just may turn out to be one of those times. Paul prays for us to have a spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Christ. He prays that we may know the hope to which we are called. We can know this. We can know it intimately. This is not just head knowledge. This travels deep into the heart. What is the hope to which we are called? In another place, Paul speaks of Christ in us, the hope of glory.

But the real kicker in this passage? That bit about the "immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe." What power? "...according the the working of his great might that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead!!" Do you get that? Do I get that?? Can you begin to fathom the amount of power that God exerted when he raised Christ from the dead? Such great power that some have said that the image of the body of Christ was radiated into that Shroud of Turin. (I'm not attempting to validate the Shroud of Turin, here...I really don't have a firm opinion on that, yet.) Nevertheless, it was, arguably, the greatest exertion of God's power since he spoke the universe into creation! And he works that power "toward us who believe!"

This is HUGE!!

What if we could live in this power? What if we could realize it 24/7?



Father, I am literally falling on my knees here as I read and meditate on this passage. You have brought me to this passage at yet another crucial point in my life on this planet. The things that I am reading right now about the "church," and then these passages in Galatians and now this in Ephesians...your timing is perfect. Your wisdom is perfect! I praise you for the knowledge that you give us, the wisdom that can be ours, simply by reaching out and grasping it. I beg you, Father, make this real in my life. Let it stick this time! Let it stick for good. I ask you to let the reality of who I am in you become the primary driving force of my life for however long I have left here.

I also ask you to bring to mind others for whom I can pray these words. I already know of two. So I pray these prayers for them right now. Thank you for bringing another to mind.

All praise to you, mighty God!



I got nothing else to say after that...

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com