DAY 290--FREE FROM PLEASING OTHERS
2008-12-21

I'm sitting here, preparing for "church" this morning, listening to Christmas music on Rhapsody. I just found Celine Dion's recording of "O Holy Night." I'm not a big fan of Celine, but this song sends chills up and down my spine about 20 times. AND makes me cry, to boot. It's intensely beautiful.


Now for the Presidential Prayer Team's prayer for President-elect Obama and company.

For God�s choice of Secretary of Transportation to be identified, so our nation�s roads, railways and skies will be safe and free from attack
And it will be said: "Build up, build up, prepare the road! Remove the obstacles out of the way of my people."
�Isaiah 57:14

Oh Mighty God, how magnificent and vast is the world You have made! I praise and thank You for its great diversity of places and peoples; I praise and thank You for the privilege of traveling from one place to another and of meeting You and those who love You there. The created world is amazing, God, and I thank You for connecting us in many ways.

Today, I pray for the person of Your choosing to be identified to serve our country as Secretary of Transportation. O God, provide someone who is passionate for excellence in our roadways, railways, ports, rivers and skies! Provide the ideal person who will serve with diligence to keep our nation safe and travel smooth in the new administration. I pray this in Your name, amen.



Psalm for Today--Psalm 126

Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy!
He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.
Verses 5-6



Day 290 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Galatians 6:11-16

In this passage, Paul is rebuking first-century Christians for getting caught up in the idea that rituals like circumcision can get rid of guilt before God. This spawns a list of questions.

Who are you interested in impressing?

How much energy do you expend figuring out ways to be more accepted by others?

Is your security rooted in others, or is it rooted in your total acceptance by God?

Do you ever imagine God taking sides--either with you against the world or with everyone else against you?

How would your life look if you lived to please only him?

All very good questions. I'm really not all that interested in impressing anyone at all. Maybe that's not 100% true. It's my goal, though. I probably do occasionally attempt to impress someone that I know. However, it is not with my alleged "spirituality."

I actually probably don't spend enough energy attempting to be accepted by others. Frankly, I don't really care what others think about me. I don't live for them. I don't work for them. I live and work for God and God alone. He is the only one that matters. And when I'm not living for him, I seem to be living solely for me.

That, of course, is bad. But "it is what it is." My goal is to live for him more than I live for me.

In the course of all of this, I do love people. I love my family, and I do look out for them. I do things that are not self-serving in the name of love for my family, and sometimes for the love of others, as well. But I look at all of this as serving the Lord, not trying to gain acceptance from people.

Paul sums this all up at the end of the passage. It is not what you and I do--submit to circumcision, reject circumcision. It is what God is doing, and he is creating something totally new, a free life! All who walk by this standard are the true Israel of God--his chosen people. Peace and mercy on them!



Father, let me examine why I do the things I do. Let my mind be set on serving you and you only. Help me to not be set on impressing others or even on impressing you. I realize that you cannot be impressed by my feeble "spiritual acts." So let all that I do simply be out of love and obedience for the things you desire from me. Let my heart's desire by your heart's desire!


How would my life look if I lived only to please him? To quote the book, "Maybe you begin by asking God to give you a whiff of the air that exists beyond the 'stifling atmosphere of pleasing others.'" Yes, that's it. Let me breathe a better atmosphere.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com