DAY 285--NO LONGER TRYING TO BE GOOD
2008-12-13

First things first: My wife's father passed away at around 4:30 this morning. She is greatly relieved from the stress of the situation, and is also happy that he is Home at last and resting in peace. Or maybe he's fishing or playing golf. Will there be golf in heaven? Only those who are there know for sure.

We greatly appreciate any prayers that went up on our behalf.



Now for the prayer of the day from the Presidential Prayer Team Site for President-Elect Obama.

For citizens to be bold in prayer for the new administration
This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us�whatever we ask�we know that we have what we asked of Him.
�I John 5:14-15

Holy God, how I praise and thank You that I can freely bring my requests and concerns to You today and every day! No matter what is going on in the world, You invite me to ask of You with confidence and faith that You hear and You respond in accord with Your sovereign will. I thank You for this profound truth, O mighty God!

As President-Elect Barack Obama makes preparations for the new administration which will begin on January 20, I pray for a quickening in prayer on the part of all Americans. Stir us to intercede for the new President that he will know beyond all doubt that he is being upheld and supported. Thank You, holy God, for the blessings and freedoms we enjoy in this nation to freely pray for our elected officials. May we never abuse or take this privilege for granted. In Your name, amen.



Psalm for today: Psalm 121

He will not let your foot be moved;
He who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.
Verses 3-4

This is great news! Our God never sleeps. He is always watching over us. And for this reason, we can sleep peacefully.



Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and the earth is yours. YOurs is the kingdom, O LORD, and you are exalted as head above all. 1 Chronicles 29:11


Day 285 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Galatians 2:16,19-21

Paul found that trusting in Christ worked better than "trying to be good." In fact, he found that trying to be good doesn't work at all. And he says, "...we had the best system of rules the world has ever seen!" "...we are not set right with God by rule-keeping."

Paul makes several intriguing statements in this passage.

1. "My ego is no longer central." Wow. Who among us can say that, truthfully? I would love to be able to say that, but I still find myself acting selfishly, sometimes.

2. "It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion." I love this one. And I feel that way, most of the time. I'm not very concerned at all about any man's opinion of me.

3. "I am no longer driven to impress God." This is a little tougher than number 2. How many of us catch ourselves doing things that we think will impress God? Guess what. They don't. I believe the only thing that "impresses" God is living by faith in Christ. And if we are working to impress him, we aren't living by faith, are we? Kind of a "catch 22," there.

4. "Christ lives in me." This is true of anyone who believes in Jesus as Savior. But it is still a mystery.

5. "The life you see me living is not 'mine,' but it is lived by faith in the Son of God." Again, this is a great mystery, but it is true of anyone who truly believes in Christ.

All of these statements serve to drive home the awesome truth that we cannot "be good enough" to obtain salvation. It is only done by faith. We must put our egos aside, stop trying to please/impress each other, and most certainly stop trying to impress God.



Father, I rejoice in the truth of Paul's statements. I pray that they all be 100% true for me. I know where I fall short of full trust in you, and pray that you will empower me to be fully trusting. Let my ego be, well, killed. For real. Let my ego be nothing. Let my appearance to others be unimportant, other than that I appear to be living in faith. And let me not be trying to impress you. My life is not mine, it is yours.


Find a way to remind yourself throughout the day that the life you live is not yours, but Christ's. Live by faith in him.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com