DAY 283--RELATIONSHIPS ARE MESSY
2008-12-09

I'll start today's time with the prayer for President-elect Obama from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

For great wisdom and discernment for Bill Richardson, President Elect Obama�s choice for Secretary of Commerce
Now listen, you who say, "Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money." Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, "If it is the Lord's will, we will live and do this or that."
�James 4:13-15

Holy Lord God, in Your wisdom You see the nations and their affairs with clarity and power. You are sovereign and in control of all that takes place between nations and economies, commerce and trade. I praise You for the blessing and privilege of trusting in You in all things at all times. You are holy and good, O God!

Today I bring before You Bill Richardson, President Elect Obama�s choice for our nation�s new Secretary of Commerce. I ask You to strengthen and guide him as he prepares to serve, so that commerce in our country may thrive, and so our nation and her citizens�particularly those who live at the margins�may prosper. In Your righteous and powerful name, amen.



Psalm for today: Psalm 119:169-176

I long for your salvation, O LORD, and your law is my delight.
Let my soul live and praise you, and let your rules help me.
I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek your servant, for I do not forget your commandments.
Verses 174-176

And thus ends the longest chapter of the Bible, and of 176 verses, almost every one of them mentions God's Word in one form or another (rules, precepts, law, word, etc.). And I believe, also, that each of the sections of verses begins with a successive letter of the Hebrew alphabet, making it a really long acrostic poem. Actually, each verse of each section begins with the corresponding letter. Naturally, this is completely lost in the English translation. Kind of a shame.



Day 283 in The Message//Remix:Solo

2 Corinthians 12:16-21

This is an interesting passage. Apparently, Paul was having to defend himself and his companions against some accusations that they were somehow scamming people. And I guess anytime there is a "preacher" involved, this kind of thing is a danger. Sometimes, it's warranted, as in cases of people such as Robert Tilton, et al, but Paul had a rock-solid defense. And he refused to make his case before men. God is his judge and jury. He also makes a point to remind them that he never took a dime of their money. He supported himself all through his ministry.

But he also acknowledges fear that, when he does come to visit the Corinthians again, there will be troubles in their relationship. He is concerned about "quarrels, jealousy, flaring tempers, taking sides, angry words, vicious rumors, swelled heads, and general bedlam." Sounds like those Corinthians really had it all together, eh? (That was sarcasm.) But are they different than any other contemporary congregation? Not much. I've seen all of the above mentioned things in most churches that I've been part of.

So, the title is very true. "Relationships are messy." Yes, they are.



Father, I read this passage, and it makes me think of a particular relationship that I struggle with among the staff at my church. Well, not even really the staff, because the one you've brought to mind is not technically a staff member. Father, show me how you want me to relate to this brother. Any personality conflicts that we have are just that. They really have nothing to do with you. Let your love shine through our relationship, and let me set aside things that annoy me. These things are not important. The important thing is that this person loves you and wants you to be glorified, just as I desire the same thing.

If there are other relationship (I've already thought of another one) that are the same way, help me overcome the pettiness that drives this kind of thinking. Give me the discipline and tenderness to get along with all of your children.



I'm going to be open to how God leads me to act (or not act) in these relationships that he has brought to mind. I encourage anyone who reads this to do the same. And if you tell me you don't have any relationships like this, I'll be skeptical. However, it could also be that you are way more mature than me. :-) It wouldn't take much. God bless you all!

Grace and peace, friends.

One more thing before I go, today. Please pray for my wife's family. Her father is in the hospital as I write this, and will probably pass on within the next 24 hours or so. It has been a stressful relationship, to say the least, but he is still her father. She has a sister who is not handling this real well, so pray for my wife's strength.

Thank you.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com