DAY 277--A FRESH START
2008-11-23

I begin with the prayer for President-elect Obama and VP-elect Biden, as well as everyone that they are in the process of selecting for their associates. This can be found at the Presidential Prayer Team site.

For God Himself to be at work choosing those who will serve in the new administration
Yet the LORD, the God of Israel, chose me from my whole family to be king over Israel forever. He chose Judah as leader, and from the house of Judah He chose my family, and from my father's sons He was pleased to make me king over all Israel.
�1 Chronicles 28:4

O Holy Lord God, You are Lord of all time and history, and You reign over it in perfect authority and sovereignty. We trust in Your wisdom and Your ways. You call out those You desire to serve You, and You remove those who are not part of Your plans. I praise You for this, and I trust You in it.

As our newly-elected President makes plans for his administration, I ask that You identify for him those leaders who You want to serve our country in the coming months and years. I ask for godly, wise persons who will have integrity in all things. I ask for those who will submit their wills to Yours in faith. In Jesus� name, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 119:113-120

You are my hiding place and my shield;
I hope in your word.
Verse 114



Day 277 in The Message//Remix:Solo

2 Corinthians 5:14-21

...anyone united with the Messiah gets a frest start, is created new. The old life is gone; a new life burgeons!

What does this mean for us today? At the most basic level, it is new life. The old life is gone. Christ has created in us a new life. And this if true for "anyone united with the Messiah."

Become friends with God; he's already a friend with you.

How can I become a better friend with God? That's what I need to work on. He calls me friend. What do I need to do to be a better friend? I need to listen more to him. I need to read his book more often and more deeply. Sometimes, my Scripture reading is nothing more than a cursory skimming. This ought not be. I should be chewing on it, like a good piece of prime rib!



Holy Father, I thank you for calling me a friend of yours, even though I feel that I don't deserve that name. I ask for the help of the Holy Spirit to be more deserving; to work in my life to do things that make me a better friend. Help me be more faithful in studying the Bible, in praying (especially in praying...I definitely don't do that enough).

I am very grateful for the new life that has been formed in me. Let not my dead flesh quench that new life. I carry around this dead flesh...help me not be overcome by its desires.



God has given us the task of telling everyone what he is doing. We're Christ's representatives. Let us be worthy representatives of Christ today.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com