DAY 272--DON'T HOLD BACK
2008-11-14

Psalm for Today: Psalm 119:73-80

You hands have made and fashioned me;
give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.



Day 272 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Corinthians 15:51-58

This passage deals with the second coming of Christ. The dead will rise and those who are still alive will also be changed in the "twinkling of an eye."

The phrases/statements that speak most to me are in the closing paragraph of the passage.

With all this going for us, my dear, dear friends, stand your ground. And don't hold back. Throw yourselves into the work of the Master, confident that nothing you do for him is a waste of time or effort.

What encouragement! Especially for someone who might have begun to feel a little bit "burned out." Or that maybe nobody is noticing the work they do. Or maybe that the work is pointless, useless, and having no results.

We would do well to remember that there are missionary biographies out there involving people who picked up and moved to a strange land and spent years of their lives, literally, before seeing one single convert to Christ. These people never gave up. They lived these words of Paul!

So why can't I??

There's no reason. No reason at all. God uses ordinary people like me to accomplish extraordinary things for his kingdom. Ordinary people like me and you.



Father, I am encouraged greatly by Paul's words today. But at the same time I am shamed by them. Shamed because I know that I have not thrown myself into your work. I believe that I do have the confidence that nothing done for you is a waste of time or effort. But sin holds me back. Sin that I allow.

God almighty, give me the strength to throw myself into your work with reckless abandon. Let me know beyond a shadow of a doubt that, no matter what, all work done for you is worthy. Nothing is wasted. Even if I don't see results immediately. Even if, especially if, no one notices. Because, Father, if I do something to get noticed by men, I do it for the wrong reasons. You are my God. I will serve you. I will throw myself into your work.



What "work" have you been created for? I know mine. It is worship. Leading in worship, mainly through the medium of music. This includes writing songs as well as leading them in church. I know of several others of you who have this gift as well. Sara, Andy and maybe others. Andy, you may not think that worship is your work, but I know that music is. Some of you are writers. What is your passion? If God has gifted you with a passion in a certain area, chances are that is the work that you are created to do.

What holds you back? What keeps you from throwing yourself into this work with everything you've got? There might be legitimate reasons...fincances is a big one. I have to work a full time job that has nothing to do with my ministry. Many people are in that same circumstance. But there are reasons that are not so legitimate, too. I know what mine is. And it is something that needs to be dealt with.

Let's get with God and ask him. Talk to him. That's what this diary is about, after all. That's why it's called "Conversations with God." A conversation is two way. We talk, God talks. He listens, we listen. (Not necessarily in that order...) What would he have us do? Whatever it may be, rest assured that he has given the skills and strength to accomplish it.

I'll close with the verses that caught my attention from the start.

With all this going for us, my dear, dear friends, stand your ground. And don't hold back. Throw yourselves into the work of the Master, confident that nothing you do for him is a waste of time or effort.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com