MY BODY, BROKEN FOR YOU
2008-11-10

Ah, Monday. Monday, Monday...can't trust that day...

Oops...sorry.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 119:57-64

Though the cords of the wicked ensnare me, I do not forget your law.



Great quote from John Calvin in today's "Tabletalk" reading.

Men can do nothing but what God has appointed, still this does not free them from condemnation, when they are led by a wicked desire to sin. For though God directs them, by an unseen bridle, to an end which is unknown to them, nothing is farther from their intention than to obey his decrees.



Day 270 in The Message//Remix:Solo

1 Corinthians 11:23-29

When was the last time you took Communion (sometimes, we Baptists call it "The Lord's Supper")?

What was it like? Did it feel special or routine? Who was with you? Did that person's presence change the experience at all? How did you prepare yourself?

These questions really made me think. We observe Communion about once a quarter at our church. I can't say that the last one really had any special meaning for me. And that makes me sad. It tells me that I wasn't fully prepared for it and it was not a true worship experience for me. It felt very routine. And that is nobody's fault but mine. (Hmm...good song, that one..."Nobody's Fault But Mine.") Even if the pastor says the same words every single time we observe Communion, it can still be a memorable thing for me, if I am truly "connected" with Christ during this event. It is the celebration of the body and blood that he gave to cleanse me of my sins! This inspires me towards the next observance of this sacrament.

In the passage for today, Paul says, "You must never let familiarity breed contempt." Amen to that. "Examine your motives, test your heart, come to this meal in holy awe."



Dear Jesus...I have been complacent in my observance of your Supper, the Communion that you have commanded that we observe. Your body was given for us. Your blood was shed for us. We reenact this event every time we observe Communion. The next time I take part in this, Lord, cause me to remember to examine my motives, test my heart, and come to the meal in holy awe. Most especially, the "holy awe" part. I confess my sin of allowing this thing to become routine. Let it never be routine for me again! May it be one of the most precious, tender moments of worship that I can experience!


Here is a worthy Anglican prayer from the Book of Common Prayer: We do not presume to come to this thy Table, O merciful Lord, trusting in our own righteousness, but in thy manifold and great mercies. We are not worthy so much as to gather up the crumbs under thy Table. But thou art the same Lord whose property is always to have mercy. Grant us therefore, gracious Lord, so to eat the flesh of thy dear Son Jesus Christ, and to drink his blood, that we may evermore dwell in him, and he in us. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com