GOD ENCOUNTERS
2008-11-02

Good morning. I hope that everyone has a good time of worship somewhere this morning. I'm getting ready for ours. Not feeling well, though, so I've got to get past that in order to be a good worship leader this morning.


Psalm for Today: Psalm 119:25-32

My soul clings to the dust;
give me life according to your word!

I will run in the way of your commandments when you enlarge my heart! Verse 25,32



Day 266 in The Message//Remix:Solo

It's review day. Lately, my devotions have been so sporadic that it seems like it's be ages since I've done the review.

Oh, and thanks, Andy, for your positive comments. I'm glad that God is using my words for good. Oh, and when I used the word "dysfunctional" to describe our marriage, it was sort of tongue-in-cheek, but not totally. I didn't mean it in a negative way, though.

Ok, on with the review.

DAY 260--AN OFFERING--Romans 12:1-3

I need to take my ordinary life, the day-to-day stuff of my life, and place it before God as an offering. A "living sacrifice." The traditional translations all have a line in there that says something like, "this is your spiritual worship," or "your reasonable service." To truly worship God is to give him my whole life.

DAY 261--GOVERNMENT AND GOD--Romans 13:1-7

It's very relevant to me that this reading came up when it did. Big day this Tuesday. History will be made, no matter who wins the election. And we are here to witness it.

The main point of this reading is that we are to be responsible citizens. There is no place of anarchy in the Christian's life. Peterson translates, "If you're irresponsible to the state, then you're irresponsible with God, and God will hold you responsible."

We have a responsibility to pray for and respect our leaders. No matter who wins the election Tuesday, every Christian in this nation MUST pray for him and his VP. It is not an option. (And no praying for them to die, either...that's bad form.) I have a horrible fear of something that may happen, and I dare not even write it here. It could come back to haunt me. Let's just hope I'm wrong.

Bottom line...pray for our leaders. Obey the laws. We must be exemplary citizens.

DAY 262--DEBATABLE MATTERS--Romans 14:6-10,13

I really enjoyed this reading, as well.

Forget about deciding what's right for each other. Here's what you need to be concerned about: that you don't get in the way of someone else, making life more difficult than it already is.

What a great passage. We don't answer to each other, we answer to God. It is not up to us to decide what is right for each other. (This is, of course, for matters that are pretty much left up to interpretation. What it takes to be a Christian is not up for grabs.)

This reminds me of a bumper sticker I saw yesterday. It made me sad. It said, "You CAN'T be a CHRISTIAN and be PRO-ABORTION."

Ok. Listen. I certainly think abortion is wrong. I believe it's murder. I believe life begins at conception.

However, that is not a criterion for being a Christian. People, there is on ONE requirement for being a Christian. You must believe in the Song of God. Or should I say "trust" in? Because it is more than just simple belief. At any rate, it is just that, though, believing that Jesus Christ died for your sins and has forgiven you. That's it. You don't have to be "pro-life." You don't have to be Democrat or Republican. You don't have to be "green." You don't have to be Baptist, Catholic or Church of Christ. You don't even have to be baptized (if we did, then the thief on the cross wasn't really saved, was he?).

I will admit I'm saddened by Christians who believe that abortion is ok. But being against it is not a requirement for being a Christian.

Period.

DAY 263--STRENGTH IS FOR SERVICE--Romans 15:1-6

Whatever strengths God has given me are given so that I might serve him by serving others. My give of musical talent was given to me for one reason only. That I might lead others into his presence through the act of worship. If I use my gift for recognition, I am perverting it. Picture how well the church would work if we all managed to use our gifts only for serving others.

DAY 264--CALLED INTO THIS LIFE--1 Corinthians 1:26-31

Continuing in this vein of our gifts, it is important to notice what kinds of people God typically calls into his service. Largely, we are bunch of misfits. But God takes us and gifts us and makes "beautiful feet" out of us. But we are never to "blow our own horn." God intends for us to remain humble. That is why our gifts, as mentioned above, are intended for service.

DAY 265--YOU ARE A TEMPLE--1 Corinthians 3:11-17

We are a temple of God. A temple has two purposes. It was where people went to pray, and it was considered to be the dwelling place of God on earth. Our "temples" are, indeed, the dwelling place of God. Therefore, we need to be "building" them with quality materials. Not physical, but spiritual...prayer, Bible study, worship, felloweship, etc.

I guess that's it for this time. Time for me to go to church. Have a great Sunday, all.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com