DAY 263--STRENGTH IS FOR SERVICE
2008-10-23

Psalm for Today: Psalm 118

It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in princes.
Verses 8-9

I like the progression of this couplet. First he tells us that it is better to trust in God than in men. But then he narrows it down a little and lets us know that even princes aren't worthy of our trust.



Day 263 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Romans 15:1-6

Paul begins this passage by saying, "Those of us who are strong and able in the faith need to step in and lend a hand to those who falter, and not just do what is most convenient for us." Can I hear an "OUCH?"

Thinking back on my life, spiritually, there have been many people who have "stepped in" and helped me out when I was faltering. Specifically when I was going through a really difficult time back in my Seminary days, in 1983-4. I even wrote a song about the number of friends that God sent my way during those two years. I never would have made it through that time without those people.

But I also received instruction and training from people who have helped me get where I am today in terms of worship leadership.

A lot of the talent that I have is natural. Well, that's kind of redundant. By definition, "talent" is natural. It is God-given. And for that reason, I'm not a very good teacher. In fact, just last Sunday morning, someone asked me if I might have time to teach them some piano. I graciously declined, explaining that I am very impatient when I try to teach someone something that came naturally to me. I'm a performer, not a teacher. I can teach Bible lessons, but I can't teach someone how to play an instrument.

But that doesn't excuse me from "stepping in" and lending a hand to someone who is faltering. This is about lending spiritual aid to someone who desperately needs it. And I'm always available to do that.

Another sentence in this passage that really speaks to me is, "Strength is for service, not status."

Amen, to that! God's gifts are given to us to serve, not so that we can receive recognition and say, "Look at me, I can [insert gift]!"



Jesus, you were the ultimate server. You did not do what was convenient, but took all the troubles of the world upon yourself. You worked yourself to the bone, literally not sleeping sometimes, to help people or pray about the things that you had to do next. May I be more like you when it comes to helping people who need it. And in this case, I'm more referring to spiritual help than physical, although I need to be available for that, as well.

Our churches are full of hurting people. We all need to be ready to help them with their spiritual needs. Dear Jesus, help me to always be ready, and willing to be inconvienced for one of your children, no matter what the occasion.



There's no doubt that I should be giving more of myself than I do. I'm jealous of my time, especially the time that I have to spend with my wife and daughters. But I still need to be more available when faltering people need a hand.

One thing I'll add. I don't believe this means that we are supposed to invade someone's personal life and let them know they need help. It kind of needs to be up to them to ask for it. Most of the time, if someone doesn't know they need help, they are resentful when you try to offer it. Perhaps in that case, the best thing is to pray for them to recognize their need and then cry out for it.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com